Garbanzo Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
This salad was great! I did use some halved red grapes along with a golden delicious apple; I also used slivered almonds instead of the walnuts. I'll definitely make it again with the slight alterations. It's great for a crowd too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
I really enjoyed this salad...kind of like a Waldorf salad. I went easy on the mayo, used almonds instead of walnuts, and added some dried cranberries. It was very good! I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnooziQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windham, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
Sooooo good. This salad is perfect.. It's filling enough for my boyfriend and healthy enough for me. Very refreshing and easy. I served it on a bed of romaine lettuce and fresh baby spinach instead of iceberg. And I used pecans. But I think any nut would be great in this salad. It is great as a side for grilled salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
Everyone liked this. I served it as a main course salad on a mixture of baby spinach and romaine along with rice and sauteed vegetables. I substituted a TBSP. of the mayo with olive oil and added a bit more mustard and lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
This was great! I think next time I'll add some dried cranberries to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I thought this was great, although I did feel compelled to season it a bit more. I substituted brown sugar for honey, forgot to put in nuts, used 'Ultra Low-Fat Miracle Whip', and threw it a few spices. I was GOING to eat the leftovers but it seems that my husband beat me to them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
Very good! I used sweet onions and added about 1/4 cup. I also added salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Wow -- This was delicious and I will definitely make it again. I increased the serving size to 12 and although it called for 3 apples, I just included 2. I love the combination of textures. I added some grill seasoning for added flavor. Next time I may add in some toasted sesame seeds or even cilantro. Highly recommended -- I received lots of compliments and recipe requests when I served this at my party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMCCREAR

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Centreville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hockessin, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Very easy and different. Used green onions instead of regular onion and didn't have walnuts so I subbed dried cherries. I love garbanzo beans and look for ways to use them. Served with fried chicken and deviled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doggymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Monterey, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States