Garbanzo Bean Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
These are a godsend for a vegetarian! I used canned - would certainly NOT recommend all the bread. Used breadcrumbs and ran out at 1-1/4 cups. Thank god, next time I'll use less than that. Very good, just too "stuffingish". Otherwise I great idea. Also, 1/8 tsp thyme was more than enough for me. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2000
I used canned garbanzo beans, added fresh parsley, and used a food processor instead of a blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
These patties would be very good without so much thyme. If you don't like the taste of thyme, please don't put a tablespoon in the recipe. I won't add more than a tsp. next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
An excellent addition-and maybe staple-to my anti-inflammatory diet. Legumes are king and this is certainly a great base recipe for me. The first time I used 1 1/4 cups of panko bread crumbs and that was perfect. This time I used the same amount but of fine bread crumbs-don't do it! Definitely stick with bread cubes or the coarser panko bread crumbs. They're awful with fine bread crumbs. I wonder if adding some cayenne or turmeric would be good for some added spice? I think garlic might be good as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Fledgling Basement Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Wow! These taste delicious! They tastle like meatloaf to me and I love meatloaf! I put ketchup with mine. I think if you want to add the same types of ingredients that meatloaf has you can have a great creation- maybe add green peppers or sharp chedder cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lj880

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
These were very easy to prepare and tasted great. I used italian seasoning instead of just thyme. I also froze the majority of the recipe and that has been very nice to have on hand. I wwould definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
Disappointing recipe give the amount of effort I put in. It was a bit pasty. Serve like burger patties with your favorit burger toppings. I used red pepper walnut past. I froze uncooked patties for a rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Very good! I make bean patties all the time. They are good fast food. I slip 2 of 'em in a baggie and pop 'em in my purse. They are great right after the gym. I used 1 tsp fresh thyme, 1 1/4 cups plain bread crumbs, 1 Tbsp pepper , 1/2 Tbsp salt, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, & 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese. Bake on oiled cookie sheet at 350F for 20 min, flip and bake 20 minutes more. To me the consistency was correct. The mixture was rather wet and stuck to my hands while making the patties. Also, they did not "over-dry" out when baked. When I make my own, I'll use 1 can beans, and some shredded (food processor) vegetable like zucchini, beets, mushrooms, onions. Add seasonings, 1 egg, and 1 cup or so of bread crumbs, then bake 350F, 20 minutes each side. It's the seasonings that have been messin' me up. This recipe is good like it is but it's also a good base for me to tweak and mess with. Also try Carrot Burger by Phyllis Moody on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This recipe is good but i tryed it with the caned beans and no tyme but i added a tablespoon of the bacon bits to it and mixed it in. easy fast and taste great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
These were very good. I did not have bread cubes and used uncooked rolled oats, which works fine for me in meatloaf. The mixture was too dry, though, so I added two more eggs, but maybe another liquid would have worked as well. The patties were soft but held together well. I agree with others that the thyme taste is overwhelming; I will greatly reduce it next time. I will definitely make these again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States