Garbanzo Bean Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
An excellent addition-and maybe staple-to my anti-inflammatory diet. Legumes are king and this is certainly a great base recipe for me. The first time I used 1 1/4 cups of panko bread crumbs and that was perfect. This time I used the same amount but of fine bread crumbs-don't do it! Definitely stick with bread cubes or the coarser panko bread crumbs. They're awful with fine bread crumbs. I wonder if adding some cayenne or turmeric would be good for some added spice? I think garlic might be good as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Fledgling Basement Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
HELP!!!! I really wanted to try this, but I must have done something wrong. The patties turned out extremely dry and would not stay together when frying them. The receipe says the garbanzo beans should make a paste in the blender, but mine only turned into dry crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
very good. I followed the recipe exactly except, I used Italian seasoning in place of thyme, since tyhme is not a favorite flavor, of my families. I did find it a bit dry, but tastey. I will make again and cut back a little on the bread crumbs. now if I could just find a low cal sauce this would be heaven. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I don't think mine came out quite like it was supposed to - not like what people have been saying is similar to a veggie burger - but was still very good. My attempt seemed to make an absolute ton (I made 8 patties and still had over half a bowl left), but I cut back on the thyme as others said it was too much. My husband said it was a little bland, so I'm planning to spice up the remaining half bowl to have with dinner tomorrow. For us it's a nice side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Wow! These taste delicious! They tastle like meatloaf to me and I love meatloaf! I put ketchup with mine. I think if you want to add the same types of ingredients that meatloaf has you can have a great creation- maybe add green peppers or sharp chedder cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lj880

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This recipe is good but i tryed it with the caned beans and no tyme but i added a tablespoon of the bacon bits to it and mixed it in. easy fast and taste great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
awesome-o!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
A bit dry. Perhaps adding some more flavor would be helpful. Healthy alternative to burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaimay7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albion, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
These are a godsend for a vegetarian! I used canned - would certainly NOT recommend all the bread. Used breadcrumbs and ran out at 1-1/4 cups. Thank god, next time I'll use less than that. Very good, just too "stuffingish". Otherwise I great idea. Also, 1/8 tsp thyme was more than enough for me. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Wow!! These burgers were really good. I have never tried vegetable burgers before, and these were really good. They remindedme of turkey dressing. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States