Garbanzo Bean Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
Loved these! I had some green pepper in the fridge so added it as well as some garlic. Great base recipe for a lot of different flavors! A liked them with a little sriracha on top too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I left a slight visible "grit" while processing. I doubled the recipe, and having only enough fine dry crumbs for the original, I processed a wide piece of whole wheat bread to make up the difference. I finely processed one celery stalk and stirred it in. Four adults and four children ages 4-11 liked these. I will be cooking up dried garbanzos to make these again and stock my freezer. Be sure to rinse canned garbanzos in all recipes, if using, to avoid an off taste. I would like to do these as sticks to dip in marinara sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
These are really good. I typically half the recipe using Italian bread crumbs and 1 can garbanzo beans, reserving liquid to use if needed for consistency. My husband really likes these and will break them up to add with his vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
These are quick, easy, and tasty. I added about 1/2 cup grated carrots and some fresh parsley for a nutritional boost. Also, I just used about 2 scant cups bread crumbs rather than cubes. This is a handy, flexible recipe - definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
These were very good. However, when I read over the recipe the first time I thought that a whole tablespoon of thyme was a lot. I put 1 1/4 tsp of thyme and that was plenty! I also added a little garlic. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center, Texas, USA
Living In: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Very good! I make bean patties all the time. They are good fast food. I slip 2 of 'em in a baggie and pop 'em in my purse. They are great right after the gym. I used 1 tsp fresh thyme, 1 1/4 cups plain bread crumbs, 1 Tbsp pepper , 1/2 Tbsp salt, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, & 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese. Bake on oiled cookie sheet at 350F for 20 min, flip and bake 20 minutes more. To me the consistency was correct. The mixture was rather wet and stuck to my hands while making the patties. Also, they did not "over-dry" out when baked. When I make my own, I'll use 1 can beans, and some shredded (food processor) vegetable like zucchini, beets, mushrooms, onions. Add seasonings, 1 egg, and 1 cup or so of bread crumbs, then bake 350F, 20 minutes each side. It's the seasonings that have been messin' me up. This recipe is good like it is but it's also a good base for me to tweak and mess with. Also try Carrot Burger by Phyllis Moody on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
These were very good. I did not have bread cubes and used uncooked rolled oats, which works fine for me in meatloaf. The mixture was too dry, though, so I added two more eggs, but maybe another liquid would have worked as well. The patties were soft but held together well. I agree with others that the thyme taste is overwhelming; I will greatly reduce it next time. I will definitely make these again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
These were delicious. I used a can of garbonzo beans and sauteed onion and garlic in butter and added them to the mix. I left out the thyme and used 1 1/4 cups italian seasoned bread crumbs. My picky kids even loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Vinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shadow Hills, California, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I made this in my blender as stated, and had to add water because my blender would not make the garbanzo beans into a paste. However, the flavors were spot on & my "Garbanzo Bean Mounds" were delicious. I even used some of it on the nopal tacos I made earlier today. I will try this recipe again after I go out & purchase a food processor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefany Sherman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Pretty good, though I modified the recipe. I used canned garbanzo beans and 1/2 cup of bread crumbs. The patty was still bland-tasting, despite all the thyme, so I added a tablespoon of cumin. That made all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States