Garbanzo Bean Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Wow! These taste delicious! They tastle like meatloaf to me and I love meatloaf! I put ketchup with mine. I think if you want to add the same types of ingredients that meatloaf has you can have a great creation- maybe add green peppers or sharp chedder cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lj880

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
awesome-o!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Very good! I make bean patties all the time. They are good fast food. I slip 2 of 'em in a baggie and pop 'em in my purse. They are great right after the gym. I used 1 tsp fresh thyme, 1 1/4 cups plain bread crumbs, 1 Tbsp pepper , 1/2 Tbsp salt, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, & 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese. Bake on oiled cookie sheet at 350F for 20 min, flip and bake 20 minutes more. To me the consistency was correct. The mixture was rather wet and stuck to my hands while making the patties. Also, they did not "over-dry" out when baked. When I make my own, I'll use 1 can beans, and some shredded (food processor) vegetable like zucchini, beets, mushrooms, onions. Add seasonings, 1 egg, and 1 cup or so of bread crumbs, then bake 350F, 20 minutes each side. It's the seasonings that have been messin' me up. This recipe is good like it is but it's also a good base for me to tweak and mess with. Also try Carrot Burger by Phyllis Moody on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
These are quick, easy, and tasty. I added about 1/2 cup grated carrots and some fresh parsley for a nutritional boost. Also, I just used about 2 scant cups bread crumbs rather than cubes. This is a handy, flexible recipe - definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
These were delicious. I used a can of garbonzo beans and sauteed onion and garlic in butter and added them to the mix. I left out the thyme and used 1 1/4 cups italian seasoned bread crumbs. My picky kids even loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Vinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shadow Hills, California, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
These are really good. I typically half the recipe using Italian bread crumbs and 1 can garbanzo beans, reserving liquid to use if needed for consistency. My husband really likes these and will break them up to add with his vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crymurphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Loved them! And they were super easy! I think this will become one my regulars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabatha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
very good. I followed the recipe exactly except, I used Italian seasoning in place of thyme, since tyhme is not a favorite flavor, of my families. I did find it a bit dry, but tastey. I will make again and cut back a little on the bread crumbs. now if I could just find a low cal sauce this would be heaven. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I left a slight visible "grit" while processing. I doubled the recipe, and having only enough fine dry crumbs for the original, I processed a wide piece of whole wheat bread to make up the difference. I finely processed one celery stalk and stirred it in. Four adults and four children ages 4-11 liked these. I will be cooking up dried garbanzos to make these again and stock my freezer. Be sure to rinse canned garbanzos in all recipes, if using, to avoid an off taste. I would like to do these as sticks to dip in marinara sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States