Garbanzo Bean Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by kristen7
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This is a great recipe which I modified a bit. Another reviewer suggested using 1 1/4 cup panko bread crumbs, which i did. i am not a fan of regular bread crumbs as i find they have a strange stuffing-like flavor. I also used canned garbanzo beans. I did not have thyme, so added a mix of garlic, oregano and chili powder instead. I was unsure if the vegetable oil was supposed to be used in the mix, so i threw it in also. I think this made it a bit easier to form into patties. I used my vitamix blender, which was a bit hard to use, as the mix was rather dry. I ended up hand mixing it a little more afterwards. I recommend using maybe a smaller food processor. The patties cooked pretty quickly. My husband loved it so much, he said it tasted like chicken! I served the patties on a bed of lettuce, with some tomato slices and topped with relish and ketchup. Loved this and plan on making some again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen7

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
An excellent addition-and maybe staple-to my anti-inflammatory diet. Legumes are king and this is certainly a great base recipe for me. The first time I used 1 1/4 cups of panko bread crumbs and that was perfect. This time I used the same amount but of fine bread crumbs-don't do it! Definitely stick with bread cubes or the coarser panko bread crumbs. They're awful with fine bread crumbs. I wonder if adding some cayenne or turmeric would be good for some added spice? I think garlic might be good as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Fledgling Basement Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
HELP!!!! I really wanted to try this, but I must have done something wrong. The patties turned out extremely dry and would not stay together when frying them. The receipe says the garbanzo beans should make a paste in the blender, but mine only turned into dry crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
very good. I followed the recipe exactly except, I used Italian seasoning in place of thyme, since tyhme is not a favorite flavor, of my families. I did find it a bit dry, but tastey. I will make again and cut back a little on the bread crumbs. now if I could just find a low cal sauce this would be heaven. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I don't think mine came out quite like it was supposed to - not like what people have been saying is similar to a veggie burger - but was still very good. My attempt seemed to make an absolute ton (I made 8 patties and still had over half a bowl left), but I cut back on the thyme as others said it was too much. My husband said it was a little bland, so I'm planning to spice up the remaining half bowl to have with dinner tomorrow. For us it's a nice side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Wow! These taste delicious! They tastle like meatloaf to me and I love meatloaf! I put ketchup with mine. I think if you want to add the same types of ingredients that meatloaf has you can have a great creation- maybe add green peppers or sharp chedder cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lj880

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This recipe is good but i tryed it with the caned beans and no tyme but i added a tablespoon of the bacon bits to it and mixed it in. easy fast and taste great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
awesome-o!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
A bit dry. Perhaps adding some more flavor would be helpful. Healthy alternative to burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaimay7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albion, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
These are a godsend for a vegetarian! I used canned - would certainly NOT recommend all the bread. Used breadcrumbs and ran out at 1-1/4 cups. Thank god, next time I'll use less than that. Very good, just too "stuffingish". Otherwise I great idea. Also, 1/8 tsp thyme was more than enough for me. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States