Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This is soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This cake sounds strange (my roomates sure were skeptical!) but it is so good! We were so impressed. It is very fudgy and moist. Decided to try it because a friend could not eat gluten or dairy, but will keep making this for everyone! It is such a great cake! We used dark chocolate chips rather than semisweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I messed up and it was still delicious! (I forgot to add sugar... even healthier I guess). Also make sure that the chocolate chips are gluten-free, most chocolate chips contain vanilla which actually has gluten. Thanks for the recipe, I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Great recipe! I made it for my mom who has celiac. She loved it! I even ate it and enjoyed it very much. I could not find a 19 oz can of garbanzo beans so I used 2 cups. Came out great. I also topped it with Fat Free Cool Whip and some chopped pecans. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rmr4685
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I made this cake out of plain curiosity in my search for healthy deserts - it was so much better than i had ever imagined! Garbanzo beans...who would have thought? I covered the cake with strawberries and sifted powdered sugar - it was a hit! I think the strawberries gave the cake the sugar/sweetness that a frosting would have normally - next time i will try out different fruits :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Incredible! I shared this with co-workers and they loved it. The taste of gluten-free food keeps getting better and better. Note for previous reviewer: Hershey, Reeses, & WalMart Brand chocolate chips are GF...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
289 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I gave it five stars because now I can have cake on a gluten free diet!!! It turned out very good. I used 2 Tlb of stevia as a substitute for the sugar. Next time I will add more chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This cake is amazing! The caked looked especially dry, so I made a simple frosting glaze out of butter, powdered sugar, milk and vanilla. I made it runny enough to be a glaze over the cake. Well, once I refrigerated it, and sliced to serve, it does in fact seem crumbly when you slice, but the texture is smooth and the flavor delicious. Not dry at all. Made this for a family reunion, which consisted of a growing number of Celiacs ! Even the non-celiacs gave it a try, and it was unanimous that this is a KEEPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanBudy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This is such a great cake, I made it for my husband's birthday and he devoured it. It is a very moist and rich in flavor cake. Highly recommeded
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I was very impressed. My skeptical friends tried it and then asked for more. I used dark chocolate, but I think next time will use milk chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Hanks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 637) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States