Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Great recipe. I made it into cupcakes, but I did tweek it a little. I added a teaspoon of baking powder, a teaspoon of vanilla and 5 tablespoons of butter. (I melted the butter in with the chocolate.) Fill your cupcake tin almost to the top with the batter. I baked for 23 minutes and they were moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
433 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Incredible! I shared this with co-workers and they loved it. The taste of gluten-free food keeps getting better and better. Note for previous reviewer: Hershey, Reeses, & WalMart Brand chocolate chips are GF...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
My mother-in-law is gluten and lactose intolerant, so I thought I'd give this a shot on her last visit. Yum! Very cakelike, good nutty texture and taste from the beans. I think I would change it by adding a bit of vanilla, and using bittersweet chocolate, but otherwise it's great. I'm going to keep making it for myself even though she's gone home. :-) Make sure the flour you use to dust the pan is gluten-free, or even better, use cocoa instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
280 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Uh, this is RIDICULOUS... Ridiculously fantastic! For a point of reference, I have been buying the Trader Joe's flourless chocolate cake... this recipe is just as good if not better! I substituted 1/3C egg whites for two of the four eggs. I also used 1/2 C milk chocolate chips and 1 C. semi sweet chips, and dusted the pan with unsweetened coco pwdr. I have a gluten intolerance and only use Ghiradelli as Hershey's is difficult to get an answer about allergies. Hope this is helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This cake is the most delicious and decedent chocolate cake I have ever tasted! For all those reviewers who are giving this recipe 1/5 stars, you must NOT be following the recipe correctly. It actually upsets me reading the negative reviews. How is possible to be biting into a bean? You are supposed to be blending the beans into a smooth mixture via a food processor! How is it dry? The recipe calls for 4 eggs! Grainy? Again, mix via food processor to a smooth consistency and wash the beans thoroughly beforehand. Not sweet enough or chocolately enough? Are you using the correct measuring spoons?! Anyone who follows this recipe to the exact T should be successful in making a delicious cake. If you have a good quality food processor, a non stick baking pan, and you know how to read and follow instructions, this cake will turn out fantastic. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rmr4685
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I made this cake out of plain curiosity in my search for healthy deserts - it was so much better than i had ever imagined! Garbanzo beans...who would have thought? I covered the cake with strawberries and sifted powdered sugar - it was a hit! I think the strawberries gave the cake the sugar/sweetness that a frosting would have normally - next time i will try out different fruits :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Unbelievable! I tried this because I thought it sounded interesting (maybe a little bit weird). I told my husband to try it first since I wasn't sure. But it is THE BEST FLOURLESS CHOCOLATE CAKE I've ever had! It's rich, sweet, intensely chocolate--awesome!!!!!! Everyone should give this a try. The ingredients might seem odd, but the technique is simple, and the results are good enough to sell in a bakery! (Only recipe note: I turned my oven up to 360 instead of 350 since I'm at high altitude.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javagoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I have made the chocolate version several times and love it. Even non-Celiacs in the family love it and it is realitively healthy since there is no butter, or oil in it. I have also made my own COCONUT version of this cake. To make a coconut version: 1)Omit the chocolate chips. 2)Add one can of coconut milk. 3) Add a bag of dried coconut. 3) Increase the sugar from 3/4 cup to 1 1/4 cups. 4) Add 1/4 tsp of salt. 6) 1 tsp of vanilla. 5)I like to top it with coconut frosting from the baking aisle of the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sulli3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Great recipe! I made it for my mom who has celiac. She loved it! I even ate it and enjoyed it very much. I could not find a 19 oz can of garbanzo beans so I used 2 cups. Came out great. I also topped it with Fat Free Cool Whip and some chopped pecans. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I messed up and it was still delicious! (I forgot to add sugar... even healthier I guess). Also make sure that the chocolate chips are gluten-free, most chocolate chips contain vanilla which actually has gluten. Thanks for the recipe, I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 649) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States