Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Amazing recipe! My daughter has a gluten sensitivity and was having a hard time accepting it. I made this for a big meal so she wouldn't feel left out and even the kids were licking the plate! My guests who were afraid of the gluten free options loved it. It's now my go to dessert for any occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I tried this and I was thrilled to find out how easy it is to make. When serving,I drizzled chocolate sauce and carmel on top so it would look like something from a gourmet restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Just made it for my family. Don't know what was better, the cake or the look on their face when I told them it had garbanzo beans in it. They don't like beans. Didn't change anything and they loved it. I'll will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Amazing!! I was skeptical when trying this but it came out beautifully!! This will definitely be a staple dessert in my home! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by johnnywalkr5
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Recipe was awesome, comes out tasting like a brownie! Biggest tip is to make sure to shell the garbanzos/chick peas before putting them in the food processor. Just like making hummus, shelling the chick peas makes for a creamy, smooth texture, not grainy at all. To shell them, just squeeze them lightly and pop them out of their shells -- time consuming, but totally worth it. Other trick I used was to swap out some of the semi-sweet chips for a Hershey's Special Dark bar I picked up at the register of the supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
We've discovered that my husband and daughter have a gluten sensitivity, so I've been looking for gluten free recipes. This is one of the best I've found. The whole family loved this and couldn't tell it was made with beans at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
This is great! I substituted honey for sugar and it still turned out great! It tastes just like a flourless chocolate cake. I try to reduce my wheat intake and love experiementing with garbanzo beans and this is a great recipe. If you want to eat healthier, but still want dessert, this is the way to do it. A nice ganache wouldn't be bad either with equal parts chocolate and heavy cream, slowly heated until melted either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Tried this as a birthday cake for a 7-yr old boy who is going gluten free. I added the butter and some vanilla, as recommended, and everyone loved it! I have had gluten free mixed brownies and cakes and they never tasted like this. It actually tasted like a really rich chocolate brownie/cake. I made two rounds and slathered homemade strawberry preserves with powdered sugar on top. I also aprayed the pan and dusted with cocoa powder and added parchment paper to the bottom to reduce the chance of sticking. I think next time I might try without the butter, or use a butter substitute, for our friend who is also dairy free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Fantastic!! I needed a desert for an event, I made this in a pie plate and served with raspberries. Everyone wanted the recipe, it is a rich chocolate taste with the added bonus of protein from the garbanzo beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I added 1 tsp vanilla and used a 15 oz can of beans. This cake has a wonderfully smooth almost mousse-like texture and intense chocolate flavor (I used dark chocolate chips). Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 622) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States