Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Love this recipe and this cake. I use a high quality blender to mix the batter and the texture comes out perfectly smooth. The outside of cake will look dry, but the inside of the cake is anything but. It also got rave reviews from some of my picky family members.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NancyLou
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Delicious! I did follow other reviewers by microwaving the beans in their own liquid for about 6 minutes. Rinsed in cold and then added the step of snapping the peel off each bean. I know!!...a little time-consuming but that day I had the time (and patience). Beans only took a minute or two to become completely smooth. Made about 4 dozen mini muffins which were done in 15 minutes. Topped with Lite cherry filling. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Just made this for a friend that has gluten allergies. I come from a large Mexican/ Italian family ... Who knew anything could be made without flour, much less a cake. :-) We're a family of eaters and when I invited my new friend over for lunch I thought "what the heck can I make, I have to feed her something. It's rude to have a guest over and not offer her something to eat"??? This is the way I was raised. To my very pleasant surprise, I found this recipe, and not only wowed my friend but wowed my husband, too. It tasted SO good, I could not believe it didn't have any flour in it?!? I'm still shocked :-) I will definitely be making this again! This site never disappoints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Amazingly decadent!! I made this cake twice...the first time, I made the mistake of increasing the heat in my oven to 375c because I read a few reviews and they said it took a lot longer to cook...well, sorry but that didn't work for me. It was a bit dry and I felt it over cooked a bit but it was very good tasting. So, the second time, I used dried garbanzo, which I soaked for a day and half, then I cooked them in boiling water for a couple hours until I felt they were soft enough. I used maple syrup instead of sugar, and I used dark chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet. I doubled the baking powder and that's it. Baked it in a spring-form pan for exactly 37 minutes (because my pan was a bit wider) at 350c this time. Well let me tell you...this cake is unbelievable!! No one could ever guess it's made with chickpeas...I swear it tastes even better than any other chocolate cake you could make and there's no butter no oil no milk...way less calorie-dense and nutritious. LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyKathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chelmsford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
so rich and delicious! you completely forget that it's healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Iqaluit, Nunavut, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I made this for the second time today. I read a review that said they accidentally omitted the sugar and it still tasted great...well they were right. I omitted the sugar and added 1tsp vanilla and in increased the baking powder to 1tsp and it was delicious! I made a second batch with a tsp of almond extract and it was yummy too. My daughter is taking them for her birthday treat for her class tomorrow. I used 2 cUps of chick peas I cooked instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I really enjoyed this cake. I recently made some blackbean brownies from this site and I loved them, I am surprise what u can make with beans/peas. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
shockingly great! I will be making this again, it shocked my husband in a great way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
SO easy and Good!Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hoofdog
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
fudgy good! I added bit of butter milk and Agave for a bit off sweetness yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 605) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States