Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Yum! I did add a full teaspoon of baking powder like previous reviewers and splashed in some organic apple sauce (maybe 1/2 cups worth?) for moistness and also a teaspoon of vanilla. My 6 year old daughter who has quite the sensitive taste palate could definitely taste the beans, but said it was still good. That passes for me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This was ok, but I really think it could be great! I followed the recipe exactly and my cake seemed very dry. I'm am going to try some variations (less beans, more chocolate etc.) to see if I can't make this outstanding. If I am successful I will post a new recipe! -- 2/9/14 HA! Well I thought I followed it exactly but my bag of chocolate chips was 2 oz. less than most bags (which effected my measuring) and even after I discovered that; Something magical happened while the was in the fridge overnight... Chocolately perfection! The texture changed. It was indescribable. I ate the whole thing myself in about 5 days. I am about to make this amazing healthy dessert goodness for my kiddo to take to a birthday party at school. -- Treats need to be gluten-free the fact that they're made of (organic) garbanzo beans and are healthy will stay my little secret! I'm planning to dust with powered sugar and make a raspberry sauce to drizzle on. MMM! (I may have to make a second one for here at home). LOVE! LOVE! LOVE IT! Second time around I added a big pinch of salt and a tsp of vanilla in with the eggs. Made it even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I added some walnuts, but even without this cake is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Awesome!!!! I followed Pam's lead and added extra baking powder, vanilla and butter to the melted chocolate. I also added about 1/2 tsp of salt and 1 tsp espresso powder to mine and made cupcakes. The recipe made 18 cupcakes. I then topped them off with vanilla buttercream. These were so moist. First time ever making a gf recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Added 2 TBS of coconut oil when I was melting the chocolate chips. Cake turned out very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
My daughter has Celiac Disease and this recipe was a blessing for her sweet tooth. I have actually had people prefer this over regular chocolate cupcakes. I top them with my home cooked (gluten free) frosting and they're an absolute hit!. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Read some comments before making! I added peanutbutter, butter, and baking powder. Also, I split into 2 pans and it was cooked in 10 minutes. Turned out moist in the middle and quite tasty. I'm going to try with mint chocolate chips next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Gluten free! Tried the muffin tin idea & the tops all came off &left w/bottom crumbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I've made this cake many times. Its much better than the grainy, gluten-free chocolate cakes that are available. My non-celiac family members love it. I made the mistake of substituting dark bakers chocolate for the semi-sweet chocolate. The result was dry and dense, I won't do that again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Yum!!!! Everyone liked it. I thought the garbanzo beans left a little roughness. I want to try navy beans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 638) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States