Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Airmont, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I read only two reviews. The one that said follow the instructions and make sure batter is Smooth. That's what I did and this cake came out BEAUTIFUL. The other review I read said it was not sweet. The sugar amount was the right amount for me. If you want to, increase to one cup. I will put in a teaspoon of vanilla the next time because I usually put in vanilla to a cake batter. This was amazing. I processed the beans first and then added the eggs. I made sure everything was pulverized/smooth just like my cheesecakes and everyone wants to know how I don't have any lumps in that. Give this a try. I'm telling you, you won't make a cake with flour again. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
As a recent weight-loss surgery survivor, I was looking for something to bake on my birthday that would FEEL like birthday cake without putting myself at risk. This was FANTASTIC. I read some of the reviews and found the feedback useful; however, I pretty much followed the recipe as is. I didn't have a food processor, so my blender got quite the work out. To battle the beans, I did add about 1/2 can of bean juice in during the grinding phase of the recipe. I used egg beaters (4 eggs = 1 cup egg beaters) and it was PHENOMENAL. My husband (who had a BAD experience with a Black Bean Chocolate Cake baked by a friend's wife) was amazed (and HE's the FOODIE). He asked that I make it for his "Guy Night". I made a few alterations, mostly to play with consistency (added raspberry-pear puree from the baby food aisle and a box of SF/FF chocolate fudge pudding), but again kept it all the same. Now his FRIENDS are asking for the recipe. I think this is a very versatile, very forgiving recipe if you're willing to spend the time ensuring the beans are broken down to a smooth, hummus-like consistency. I cannot wait to play with other flavor profiles. Thank you for this amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Fantastic!! I gave a piece of these to several people and no one could tell it was gluten free or made of chickpeas. They all said how rich and delicious it was. I followed others suggestions and added 1 TSP vanilla, 5 TBSP butter and upped the Baking Powder from .5 to 1 TSP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I made it this morning just before I left for work for my nephew that only eats chick peas so I thought let me try found it on the Internet and sounded really good . Well I made it cooled it till I needed it for his birthday cake cause he wanted something healthy. Well served it to all the guests and they were like wow this is really good and some guests don't really eat chick peas and after they ate it they were totally stunned. I was so happy that it was a hit and everyone really liked it . I want to say thank you so much cause I loved it and will make it again and again cause there is always room for this amazing and wonderful cake . I will not change anything with the ingredients it's perfect the way it is. Thank you again I rate a 5 star perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Made a 1/2 version of this but used double the baking powder but also used stevia in place of sugar and sugar free chips. It came out great considering I used healthier sugar options while dieting. My wife thought it was alright. I have another in the oven as I'm typing this. This dessert has really helped me to stay on track on my diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Great, moist and rich. I recommend skinning the garbanzos before blending-tedious, but worth it to make them smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I really, really wanted to love this recipe. [Good-for-you-yet-delicious chocolate cake? Who wouldn't want that to be a real thing?] Unfortunately, mine turned out weirdly-chewy; and there was a faint bean-y flavor. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I made this exactly as written and it was okay. However, the recipe should say to grease AND FLOUR (or dust with cocoa powder). Mine stuck to the pan and it's presentation leaves a little to be desired. And it was very grainy/gritty. I'm not sure why, though my food processor is very old and very cheap. Perhaps a better food processor would yield a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Made this tonight, came out terrific. My daughter and I are gluten free but my husband isn't. He loved it and had no idea it was made with garbanzo beans. I used coconut oil to grease pan and dusted with cocoa powder. Would be great with a raspberry sauce on top. Gonna make for Easter dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 655) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States