Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I have made this recipe several times. Sometimes following the instructions exactly and sometimes making a few of the suggested modifications. Each time it has come out great. Lots of raves on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angiep
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Great recipe, everyone loved it. I've modified it a bit by adding a bit of vanilla, 3 tsp of cocoa powder, some cinnamon and instant coffee :) Very yummy and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I was a little skeptical at the beginning, thinking the garbanzo beans would overpower the chocolate in the cake. What a surprise! Made this recipe yesterday, one day before Valentines Day. I loved it. My husband loved it. It was light and rich, at the same time. The texture was creamy but not too heavy. Would definitely make it again. I don't need to tweak any part of the recipe. I made it in my convection oven at the same temperature setting as stated, but only for 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I loved how it turned out. Although I realized halfway through preparation that I'd left my chocolate chips at the grocery store, I made do with the remainder of a bottle of mocha Kaluhua I had in the pantry, cocoa baking powder, and the handful of dark chocolate I had left from my last baking day. Also added a teaspoon of cinnamon. Crumbly, but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Delicious and surprisingly moist cake. The changes I made were adding 1 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2 cup of chopped pecans. I also made some homemade whipped cream for on top. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Loved it! Moist and delish. I didn't tell anyone about the main ingredient until after they ate it and they were shocked. I think if you know you can taste the bean a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I made this for a family member (who has Celiac) b-day but didn't tell anyone at the dinner party that it was made with garbonzo beans. Everyone loved it, including the kids. Someone even told me it was the best chocolate cake they've ever had... that is how good this cake is. Thanks for this recipe, I plan to use it very often, especially because dark chocolate and beans are supposed to be good for me & I don't feel guilty about eating it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I love flourless chocolate cake. Really, too much. I was excited to find one that had healthy, unusual ingredients. I made it with my 5 year old. It was super easy to make. I used my best chocolate, pureed the heck out of the beans, added a little applesauce to keep it moist. The result? From my perspective, it was ok. It had a smooth, dense flourless-chocolate-cake texture, the flavor was chocolatey and - to me - a little peanutty. To my 5 year old, it tasted beany, but ok. My 3 year old said it needed sugar. It evaporated from my husband's plate in seconds. I really, really missed the butter that's in a traditional flourless cake. So much so, that I likely won't be making this one again. For me, if I'm going to splurge, why not go for the truly decadent and traditional flourless cake that will leave me breathless - and this one isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by M
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
My boyfriend and i tried this recipe and loved it so much that we made it again, but with a variation. Instead of 1 1/2 cups of semi-chocolate chips, we used 2 bars of Lyndt Dark Orange chocolate. We crumbled it and the rest of the chocolate we topped it off with chocolate chips. We also added some orange peel for some extra kick. About a teaspoon. We baked it in 3 different molds to make a 3 tier cake. It was fantastic!!!!! Next time, we'll try coffee in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Yum! I did add a full teaspoon of baking powder like previous reviewers and splashed in some organic apple sauce (maybe 1/2 cups worth?) for moistness and also a teaspoon of vanilla. My 6 year old daughter who has quite the sensitive taste palate could definitely taste the beans, but said it was still good. That passes for me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 628) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States