Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I made this exactly as written and it was okay. However, the recipe should say to grease AND FLOUR (or dust with cocoa powder). Mine stuck to the pan and it's presentation leaves a little to be desired. And it was very grainy/gritty. I'm not sure why, though my food processor is very old and very cheap. Perhaps a better food processor would yield a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Made this tonight, came out terrific. My daughter and I are gluten free but my husband isn't. He loved it and had no idea it was made with garbanzo beans. I used coconut oil to grease pan and dusted with cocoa powder. Would be great with a raspberry sauce on top. Gonna make for Easter dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Made this for my uncle for Christmas and he is still raving about how good it was. Also made for my mothers friend and she enjoyed it . Both had to hide from family members so they did not eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
On Doctors orders I have to exclude gluten from my diet, and my husband was wanting a treat. I came across this and had all items in my pantry. I had to adjust a bit as I had a 15oz can of beans. I did add a little vanilla, otherwise I followed it exactly. I did make a chocolate sauce to go over it with chocolate chips and cream. My husband says it's the best chocolate cake ever. I must agree. 4 thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Team Clark Mommy
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Just made these, OMG! So good, so moist! I added the vanilla and one can (15oz) of the beans, so I made the cup cakes. Fooled my very picky 8 yr old she lved them and then I told her they were made with beans. It was a good lesson in healthy alternatives. Can't wait to fool hubby when he gets home, he wouldn't even look at them if I told him they had garbanzo beans in them. ;) ohhh! And I dusted my pans with mocha instant coffee to give it a tiny personal flare, good add! ????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Excellent! Perfect snack! I decreased sugar to 1/2 cup and used bittersweet chocolate instead. I might try adding a little oil/butter next time but they were really pretty moist even without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Just tried this recipe and it's very good. We are not a gluten free family but have friends who are. I did follow the advice of others on the site and did make a few changes. I peeled the chick peas (garbanzo beans), added a tbsp of butter to the melting chocolate and a tbsp of cocoa powder to mix. I also baked it in a 9x9 square baking pan that was lined with foil and generously sprayed with cooking spray. No problems at all in removing this cake. I only gave it 4 stars because of all the changes I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This was surprisingly very good and very simple to make. Our extremely picky niece gobbled it right up. I added just a tsp of vanilla and a Tbsp of instant espresso powder for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
My two year old son ate some of it but he really likes bland food! Very disappointing that it's rated high. Also it taste better cold than hot. The texture was fine, flavor missing. And I even added butter to the chocolate chips. I made this for healthy aspect but never gain. I hope I never have issues with gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Delicious considering the ingredients. Not quite as good as a less healthy version, but definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 637) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States