Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
This was absolutely excellent! I made it for a dinner party and everyone raved about it. I used Hershey's Special Dark chocolate chips and I topped it with fresh whipping cream flavored with Baileys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I found this recipe, made it, and loved it! My husband even liked it and he doesn't like anything that is healthy. It will become one of my favorite gluten free chocolate cakes from now on! Next time I'm going to try it with a little peppermint flavoring as I love chocolate and mint together. What a treat. I found this same recipe on another site recently, and it says that 1 - 9" cake gets 12 servings. This helps alot with my daily caloric allowance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I made this for treat day at work. Everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
This is amazing! What a fun and easy recipe! Rich, moist, and decadent. It's a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mikeal
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This cake was so easy to make. I read the reviews before attempting because they are usually helpful and have good advice. I used dark chocolate morsels. I was going to add vanilla like some reviews suggested but forgot. It was very chocolatey and delicious anyway, I will try the vanilla next time. The density and size is similar to that of a cheesecake so you might want to double the recipe and stack two with a filling in between if you are taking it to a party. I don't have doilies so I used paper stencils with powdered sugar to make it pretty for Easter. It was a hit : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikeal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
So easy to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Yum! Very rich and very chocolatey! Kids loved it. I drizzled chocolate and caramel syrup over the powdered sugar. Will add it to my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Airmont, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I read only two reviews. The one that said follow the instructions and make sure batter is Smooth. That's what I did and this cake came out BEAUTIFUL. The other review I read said it was not sweet. The sugar amount was the right amount for me. If you want to, increase to one cup. I will put in a teaspoon of vanilla the next time because I usually put in vanilla to a cake batter. This was amazing. I processed the beans first and then added the eggs. I made sure everything was pulverized/smooth just like my cheesecakes and everyone wants to know how I don't have any lumps in that. Give this a try. I'm telling you, you won't make a cake with flour again. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
As a recent weight-loss surgery survivor, I was looking for something to bake on my birthday that would FEEL like birthday cake without putting myself at risk. This was FANTASTIC. I read some of the reviews and found the feedback useful; however, I pretty much followed the recipe as is. I didn't have a food processor, so my blender got quite the work out. To battle the beans, I did add about 1/2 can of bean juice in during the grinding phase of the recipe. I used egg beaters (4 eggs = 1 cup egg beaters) and it was PHENOMENAL. My husband (who had a BAD experience with a Black Bean Chocolate Cake baked by a friend's wife) was amazed (and HE's the FOODIE). He asked that I make it for his "Guy Night". I made a few alterations, mostly to play with consistency (added raspberry-pear puree from the baby food aisle and a box of SF/FF chocolate fudge pudding), but again kept it all the same. Now his FRIENDS are asking for the recipe. I think this is a very versatile, very forgiving recipe if you're willing to spend the time ensuring the beans are broken down to a smooth, hummus-like consistency. I cannot wait to play with other flavor profiles. Thank you for this amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 652) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States