Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Ok so I needed these to be cupcakes for my party, so I followed the recipe with the advise from the reviewer before me (added 5Tbs butter, 1tsp baking powder, and 1tsp vanilla) and it took close to 35min in the oven to be done. They came out dense and not risen like brownies so I told everyone they were "brownie cupcakes" and they loved it. Next time I will try it with less or no vanilla. Very rich. Also make sure you have a good quality food processor because mine left them grainy so I had to run them through the blender to smooth them out. No one knew they were made with garbanzos or gluten free. My husband said "I thought you were making something with chick peas" as he are it and had no idea. They tasted best a day and a half later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I've made this three times in the last two months! I love this cake! It is so moist! I keep telling myself I'm making it to take to work for my co-workers...so far it hasn't made it out of the kitchen! Yum! I haven't tried any variations but am open to using less sugar! What do you use for a sugar substitute?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I was looking to make a dessert for my mother in law ( gluten free) and found this recipe. I just added 1/4 cup of butter and changed to 1 tsp baking powder. It came out so moist. My husband and kids want to eat it all. Can't tell that it was made with chick peas. Wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
So good! I was looking for a flourless, gluten-free alternative to the traditional chocolate cake that also wouldn't feel heavy or drain my family of energy after eating it. I wasn't sure what to expect from a cake using garbanzo beans, but based on the reviews decided to give it a shot. It was a hit! Everyone praised it and had seconds. It came out very moist and chocolatey. I put strawberries on top which complemented the richness of the cake very nicely. I do recommend grinding the beans as finely as possible to make the cake smoother. I also dusted the pan with cocoa instead of flour after greasing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I just made it. It needs a little salt. The garbanzo beans we found are 15 ounce cans, so I opened 2 cans and adjusted. It smelled like garbanzo beans in the blender but not after baked. I baked it in my toaster oven and it was done 13 minutes early. Guess I need a new toaster oven. I'm serving it with strawberries on top: Strawberry shortcake with "chocolate cake." Yummm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
very easy to eat, has a great texture. everyone has liked it even garbanzo bean haters .Am making it for the third time in 2 weeks because I enjoy every chilled bite! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
My kids have to avoid dairy, gluten and corn so this recipe has been a life saver for our family ESP for birthdays! People can't believe it's beans!!!!!!!! Most baking powder has corn starch holding it together so I make my own with measurements of baking soda & cream of tarter. So grateful for this recipe! God bless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I made this exactly and it was crumbly. I couldn't slice a piece. I am trying it one more time by adding butter and I will put it into the fridge before serving. The taste was good but just the texture was a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
This was absolutely excellent! I made it for a dinner party and everyone raved about it. I used Hershey's Special Dark chocolate chips and I topped it with fresh whipping cream flavored with Baileys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 622) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States