Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
It's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This was great! In addition to the powdered sugar I added whipped cream. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Steinberg
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Buckwheat Queen
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Not even I could screw up this cake. I have been eyeing this recipe for months uncertain of a bean batter. It is absolutely a great cake (and mini muffins). I used GF Venchi chocolate bars instead of chocolate chips and it was rich and delicious. Being sceptical, I tasted the batter and was impressed that it didn't taste like chickpeas. The end product is brownie like in texture, rich and moist. It wasn't too sweet either. The cake is delicious and not a bean taste anywhere. UPDATE: I have also used coconut sugar instead of white sugar and it works perfectly. In one attempt I tried cutting down the white sugar by 1/4 and it crumbled a lot but was still tasty. As an alternative to cake, other than treating this like a brownie, baking it in a rectangular or square pan, I made this in a thin baking sheet and once completely cooled, cut them into cookie shapes for the kids. A big hit! Thanks CCumins for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I'm not sure what happened but mine was very dry. I omitted the added sugar as my chocolate had some sugar in it. I did add a couple of sachets of stevia. Everything else was the same. Taste was good but wasn't nearly as moist as I was expecting based on other reviews. I'm not sure why leaving the added sugar out would reduce moistness?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Fantastic!!! It was so chocolately and moist...the whole family loved it!! I could not find a 19 oz can of garbanzo beans... grocery store carried 15 oz and I was too cheap/ lazy to use part of a second can. So, technically, my cake lacked 4 oz of garbanzo beans but it was still SO GOOD! I will definitely be making this cake again! And I might open a second can of beans!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Wonderful flavor! Did not change a thing in the recipe. Served this at a women's gathering and it was a huge hit. Did have a little trouble removing it from the pans but believe I did not put enough cooking spray on them-so spray liberally!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I made this recipe extra lowfat by using fat-free egg substitute and replacing the chocolate chips with fat-free chocolate syrup. I used sweetener instead of sugar (though there's plenty of sugar in the chocolate syrup so don't kid yourself into thinking that makes it low calorie). I was worried it would be dry, or would stick to the pan, or wouldn't rise, but it turned out great first try. I also used one tsp baking powder (instead of a half tsp), one tsp vanilla extract, one tbsp cocoa powder and some instant coffee. It was pretty rich, but tasted great with fat-free ice cream or frozen yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I tried this and was delicious! It looked as if it belonged in a gourmet restaurant. The taste is heavier than a regular cake more like fudge. Melted some raspberry preserves and drizzled on top with whipped cream on side. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Better than flour! I made this as a raspberry torte for a group of friends, one of whom was gluten intolerant, thinking that friend would appreciate being able to have dessert with the rest of us, even if it wasn't as good. Well, I don't even know if she got a slice. The group cleaned the plate, and demanded I bring it to every gathering! Very easy with food processor, filled a 10 inch torte pan, and it baked perfectly. Mixed a pint of raspberries with small box prepared sugar free raspberry jello, filled the torte and served with whipped cream on the side. It was moist, chocolatey, and delicious..right down to the last crumb! Thank you for this wonderful and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Wonderful! Guests (including picky 4 year olds) couldn't tell it was made out of garbanzo beans. This is my go-to chocolate cake now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 637) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States