Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I tried this and was delicious! It looked as if it belonged in a gourmet restaurant. The taste is heavier than a regular cake more like fudge. Melted some raspberry preserves and drizzled on top with whipped cream on side. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Better than flour! I made this as a raspberry torte for a group of friends, one of whom was gluten intolerant, thinking that friend would appreciate being able to have dessert with the rest of us, even if it wasn't as good. Well, I don't even know if she got a slice. The group cleaned the plate, and demanded I bring it to every gathering! Very easy with food processor, filled a 10 inch torte pan, and it baked perfectly. Mixed a pint of raspberries with small box prepared sugar free raspberry jello, filled the torte and served with whipped cream on the side. It was moist, chocolatey, and delicious..right down to the last crumb! Thank you for this wonderful and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Wonderful! Guests (including picky 4 year olds) couldn't tell it was made out of garbanzo beans. This is my go-to chocolate cake now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Amazingly moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
WOW!!! This was absolutely amazing!! My three boys LOVED it and said that it was the best chocolate cake they had ever tasted. I put some strawberries on top - following the suggestion of one reviewer, but I think that I would leave them off the next time. The boys suggested some sliced bananas, and those did taste good. Nothing else is needed to make this a great cake, but I think that I may experiment with making a peanut butter glaze for the top next time. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This is pretty good especially for being GF. I eat GF and I've had hits and misses and this is a hit. Though I think it may need tweaking as it was a bit crumbly in parts and the surfaced cracked but inside it was moist like a fudge brownie. Very smooth texture. Very yummy. My hubby ate it with some cool whip and liked it. I did add butter to the recipe and vanilla as others have suggested. I also removed the husks from the peas and it blended into a very smooth batter. I think it's important to remove the husks. It's very easy to do . The husks slip right off. It just takes time to do each one. I did mine while watching tv. I will definitely make this cake again. And I would recommend the recipe to GF eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Excellent. Who would have thought chickpea in cake. We make this for gluten free friends and just for ourselves. Nice rich cake but healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Yes, tried, it. It was alright but, needs one more egg + 1 full tsp baking powder to improve the texture + make it fluffy. Also, you list the protein value as very low when in actuality it is well over 23%.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly O'Hara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I made this recipe and it turns out delicious, it is more like a brownies but a healthy version i did taste the flavor of the chickpeas (not that bad) so next time i would add 1tsp vanilla paste ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Ok so I needed these to be cupcakes for my party, so I followed the recipe with the advise from the reviewer before me (added 5Tbs butter, 1tsp baking powder, and 1tsp vanilla) and it took close to 35min in the oven to be done. They came out dense and not risen like brownies so I told everyone they were "brownie cupcakes" and they loved it. Next time I will try it with less or no vanilla. Very rich. Also make sure you have a good quality food processor because mine left them grainy so I had to run them through the blender to smooth them out. No one knew they were made with garbanzos or gluten free. My husband said "I thought you were making something with chick peas" as he are it and had no idea. They tasted best a day and a half later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 631) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States