Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This is a great recipe! It was a big hit with our G.F. guests, all of the children and adults. I used parchment paper in the bottom of the pan and it was easy to transfer to a plate after cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
The second time I made this I had no garbanzo beans so used pinto beans. I had them in the freezer, from cooking a bag of dried beans and it was just as good as the garbanzo beans. May need a little more sweetener with the pinto beans. I am not a sweet eater so I always cut the sugar back, but that is simply a personal preference. Be sure to blend very well. I just used my Ninja that has a bowl for this kind of thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Wonderful cake. Thought the idea of making the cake with the beans was awesome, but you can still kind of tell. Will try the regular way next time, but may still come back and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This "Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake" was delicious. No one believes me when I tell them this cake is made with a can of garbanzo beans instead of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This was pretty good. I added a tablespoon of cocoa powder. The same day it had good cake texture, but the next (after being cover with cling-wrap overnight) it was much more fuggy. NEXT TIME: this time I used 1 tsp baking powder and it was much more cake like. I made it as an alternative gluten-dairy free birthday cake, and it was all gone! After cooling I used big metal cookie cutters for cute single-serve hearts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
It's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This was great! I added a few tablespoons of butter to the chocolate chips while melting and 1 teaspoon of vanilla when all ingredients were in the food processer. In addition to the powdered sugar I added whipped cream when serving. A friend of mine who is gluten free said she has never had such a great tasting gluten free cake. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Steinberg
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Buckwheat Queen
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Not even I could screw up this cake. I have been eyeing this recipe for months uncertain of a bean batter. It is absolutely a great cake (and mini muffins). I used GF Venchi chocolate bars instead of chocolate chips and it was rich and delicious. Being sceptical, I tasted the batter and was impressed that it didn't taste like chickpeas. The end product is brownie like in texture, rich and moist. It wasn't too sweet either. The cake is delicious and not a bean taste anywhere. UPDATE: I have also used coconut sugar instead of white sugar and it works perfectly. In one attempt I tried cutting down the white sugar by 1/4 and it crumbled a lot but was still tasty. As an alternative to cake, other than treating this like a brownie, baking it in a rectangular or square pan, I made this in a thin baking sheet and once completely cooled, cut them into cookie shapes for the kids. A big hit! Thanks CCumins for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I'm not sure what happened but mine was very dry. I omitted the added sugar as my chocolate had some sugar in it. I did add a couple of sachets of stevia. Everything else was the same. Taste was good but wasn't nearly as moist as I was expecting based on other reviews. I'm not sure why leaving the added sugar out would reduce moistness?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Fantastic!!! It was so chocolately and moist...the whole family loved it!! I could not find a 19 oz can of garbanzo beans... grocery store carried 15 oz and I was too cheap/ lazy to use part of a second can. So, technically, my cake lacked 4 oz of garbanzo beans but it was still SO GOOD! I will definitely be making this cake again! And I might open a second can of beans!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 642) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States