Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This turned out good and the tastes is great. I melted my chocolate with 1/4 cup of olive oil and added 1 tsp of baking powder and vanilla. Yummie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I can't believe people called the cake dry! This is a fantastic recipe, which I had to try because who puts beans in chocolate cake? People who know how to cook! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This is incredibly delicious and chocolatey. I used 60% cocoa Ghiradelli chips. Used my Vitamix blender to mix ingredients. Was a very firm, almost cheesecake like texture. Yummy with vanilla bean frozen yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This is a great recipe! It was a big hit with our G.F. guests, all of the children and adults. I used parchment paper in the bottom of the pan and it was easy to transfer to a plate after cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
The second time I made this I had no garbanzo beans so used pinto beans. I had them in the freezer, from cooking a bag of dried beans and it was just as good as the garbanzo beans. May need a little more sweetener with the pinto beans. I am not a sweet eater so I always cut the sugar back, but that is simply a personal preference. Be sure to blend very well. I just used my Ninja that has a bowl for this kind of thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Wonderful cake. Thought the idea of making the cake with the beans was awesome, but you can still kind of tell. Will try the regular way next time, but may still come back and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This "Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake" was delicious. No one believes me when I tell them this cake is made with a can of garbanzo beans instead of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This was pretty good. I added a tablespoon of cocoa powder. The same day it had good cake texture, but the next (after being cover with cling-wrap overnight) it was much more fuggy. NEXT TIME: this time I used 1 tsp baking powder and it was much more cake like. I made it as an alternative gluten-dairy free birthday cake, and it was all gone! After cooling I used big metal cookie cutters for cute single-serve hearts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
It's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This was great! I added a few tablespoons of butter to the chocolate chips while melting and 1 teaspoon of vanilla when all ingredients were in the food processer. In addition to the powdered sugar I added whipped cream when serving. A friend of mine who is gluten free said she has never had such a great tasting gluten free cake. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Steinberg
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 645) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States