Garbanzo Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
both my boyfriend and i thought these were so so sooo good! i was afraid at first that the mixture was too gloppy, but i plopped it by the spoonful on the baking sheet and they came out great. i didn't have any red chilies so i used a few pinches of crushed chili flakes. also, i made the patties early in the day and just let them sit. hours later i warmed them on our george foreman grill. this is a super easy and yummy recipe that we'll definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pumpkin girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I used green instead of red pepper. I just sprayed my pan, and cooked well on both sides. These were a tasty way to enjoy garbanzo beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Very easy and good! I added diced white onion to the mix as well as cumin and garlic salt. I added just a very little olive oil, but maybe I should have put in a bit more because the patties fell apart easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Very Delicious! I make these as a man dish with a veggie and some ketchup, Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassidytonkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
SO SIMPLE! I didn't have tahini paste, carrots, bell peppers, or chili peppers in my kitchen, but these turned out great. I feel like you could add different spices etc. to the mixture too. I do not own a food processor, but I was able to roll out the ingredients together on a cookie sheet, it bonded pretty well. I served them in a lettuce leaf "bun" with some vegan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Wow! So impressed! I am a red meat gal...like 80/20 burger gal but I'm turning over a new health leaf and so have been branching out and wanted to give these a whirl. I was sold when I saw the additions to the actual beans, it is full of flavor and makes you want another bite! I did add some plain bread crumbs to mine to help bind. I also just cooked mine on the stove with a bit of olive oil. They were still rather hard to keep formed and did smash out of the bun but still super good! I mixed some sriracha and mayo and used that as my topping, but I could see that if someone wanted to forego the bun or sauce these would allow that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
We made these for dinner tonight and made some changes due to reading the reviews. My recipe came out too juicy so I added an extra tablespoon tahini paste, love that stuff, and approx. 1/2 cup Italian bread crumbs and it came out just perfect. It was firm enough and sticky enough to hold together for patties. They stuck together well and never fell apart. Forgot about the chili but next time I will add hot sauce since we can't seem to tolerate the real chili pepper. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
These were good!! I did use an egg as a binder and a couple tbs of bread crumbs! very tasty!! you can get pretty creative with these and add what you like to them!! I will make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
These were fabulous, however the recipe did require some tweaking. First, my additions: 1 tsp ground cumin before processing then 1/4 cup dry breadcrumbs and 1/4 cup unsalted sunflower seeds folded into the mixture. I then seasoned to taste with salt and pepper. Second, the cooking took much longer: 30 minutes on one side then 15 minutes after flipping. The patties were still moist and had a nice lightly crisp exterior. I served on a bed of bitter greens topped with a chipotle mayo/ yoghurt sauce and a beet, carrot, cabbage slaw. This veggie patty is now part of my repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Will add egg or bread crumbs next time. Good flavor, but the patties don't congeal without help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States