Garbanzo Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Pretty good! We didn't have Tahini on hand and the stores around us don't carry it, so I skipped that and the chile pepper (not a fan of spicy). I enjoyed it though, easy to throw together and (fairly) quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I had a hard time with these. I followed instructions, although instead of carrot added some chopped onion I wanted to use up. Also had a jalapeno instead of red chile pepper. I should have listened to the other reviews regarding adding an egg and breadcrumbs...these totally fell apart. After baking them the 20 minutes, I tried to flip them as instructed and they were complete mush. I broiled them for a few minutes then tried again. I had two of them that only cracked in half, but the rest were in pieces. The taste was alright, but texture was off. They were somewhat salvaged with a sour cream/cilantro/lime juice topping, but I don't think I'll be making them again. Just didn't suit my tastes, I guess. Sorry, but thanks for sharing anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I don't like peppers and didn't have any on hand, but I added an avocado and left the rest as is. It was good, and was moist enough to stick together while cooking. I think I overdid it on the garlic though, I'll be adding less next time. I tried using a sandwich grill, frying, and baking, and I actually liked it baked the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I tried to fry these, but they were very wet. The flavor was OK. I think I will bread them with cornmeal and try baking them for dinner (I only ended up cooking 1)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Really tasty. However, the nutrition information is wrong. It is impossible for a 1/4 of a can of garbanzo beans to be 56 cals, never mind adding other things in. I have a feeling that it should be 156 - I added it up and came close to about 150 calories per serving. BUT it is a super tasty meal. Vegan, healthy and scrumptious wins for me. Will definitely make it again =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Good, but I have to agree this needs more binders. I added breadcrumbs, but it probably needs egg as well. It bakes up okay, but I had trouble sliding the burgers off of my silpat mat, something that rarely happens. I also tried frying three other burgers while the rest were baking, and they fried up okay, but they crumble and break apart easily. So definitely more stuff to bind, and a little more seasoning would make these even better. Bf didn't like these; he just called them "awful falafels" (he doesn't like falafels, in case you cant' tell!), but I like falafels and I agree these are somewhat similar. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This does need a binder, some breadcrumbs, and more seasonings (I added garlic, lemon pepper, and oregano). Making those changes turns it into a five star burger, making the recipe as-is results in a four star filling for pita bread, topped with greek yogurt sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This is a great recipe but it could be even better with the addition of some spices and onion. I also added 1 egg and some bread crumbs. I will definitely make this again, but I will try adding more flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I used green instead of red pepper. I just sprayed my pan, and cooked well on both sides. These were a tasty way to enjoy garbanzo beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Very Delicious! I make these as a man dish with a veggie and some ketchup, Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassidytonkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States