Garbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
My husband is not a big soup person but I have made this soup twice in the past month and he loves it. I used to make beef stew in the crockpot but this is so much better, quicker and easier. This is our new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Made this as a comfort food for my ailing grandfather. Wouldn't you know, he perked right up :) I left out the bacon (just personal choice) and added some dry mustard. This is an old family recipe as well, but I haven't made it in soooo long. It was nice to make again :) Thanks for sharing it on here! It helped me out for sure xoxoxoxo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Quick, easy and very very adaptable. Love it! I too browned the beef with the onion and then tossed everything else in the crockpot on high for 4 hours. I used a couple tablespoons of tomato paste instead of diced tomato because I don't like them. Left out the potato and kinda doubled up on everything else but the ground beef. Also didn't use the bacon. I use "Better than Boullion" instead of salt to increase flavor while adding sodium (I use no sodium beef broth because I would rather add my own). I just kept adding veggies ... what ever I had (carrots, corn, lima beans, peas, cabbage, cauliflower) till it looked good. Made a nice beef vegetable soup that I plan on serving over some leftover rice and portioning the leftovers for work lunches. Thx WHTETAIL, I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This surprized me--this was pretty good! I made a small change and cooked my bacon after I browned my meat, saved a little of the bacon grease and sauteed my celery, onion and a mess of minced garlic in the bacon grease before adding in the rest of the soup ingredients. I had no leftover vegetables on hand but I did have some cauliflower and broccoli that I needed to use so I added that to the soup. I also added a can of organic corn that I drained and rinsed and added to the soup, too. After tasting it, I threw in some more spice, only because I felt like it needed a little more. Very cheap to make and really super filling! Don't let the name fool you. NOTE: For those who like a heartier soup and don't like to waste leftovers from the rest of the week, save your leftover veggies in a ziplock bag in the freezer and just throw them in this soup. This also works with a cup or so of leftover mashed potatoes, too, which acts as a natural thickener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Browned beef with garlic and onion. Added 3 diced potatoes (6 was too much), can rotel tomatoes with green chilies, celery, broth, vegetables, rosemary, thyme, basil, bacon and water. Added more broth, some oregano and extra pepper. Tomorrow, the bacon will be soggy. Next time, I'll leave it out. We will keep our leftover veggies in the freezer for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This is an excellent base for a recipe. I added cabbage, 1 can of black beans and 3 cups of V8 juice. I cooked it in the crock pot for 8 hours. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This is a wonderful and simple recipe. I changed mine up thou....i added a can of tomato juice and some extra spices because i felt it didn't have enough taste or zing. The Family loved it and rated it as a "repeatable" recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Very easy to throw together. I used the recipe as an outline and just threw a can of diced tomatoes, a lb of meat, some corn, red beans, carrots, and green beans, as well as onion, celery and green pepper into the pot, covered with water, and simmered for over 1hr. Turned out very good. Don't need the broth if you don't have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Now that my kids are off to college and it's just hubby & me, we usually have leftovers when I cook. I've started freezing the leftover vegies in a 2-cup container just to use in this recipe! (When it's full, it's time to make this soup!) I've made this with lots of different ingredients (including leftover chicken, rice, pasta, etc.) and spices (i.e. - substitute Southwestern seasoning or Oregano & Basil) and it's always GREAT. We get at least two meals for two from this, plus several lunches. Also, the soup itself can be frozen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2000
I found the recipe to be good and easy to make and it was enjoyed by all. Though it made a lot more than four servings more like 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States