Garbage Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I made this dish for dinner tonight and it was the best quiche I have ever tasted! My husband loved it too. I substituted cheddar cheese & yellow onion, and skipped the tomatoes. Also, I used 2% milk instead of half and half, to lighten it up, and it was still delicious. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by STEPHCF
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Used this recipe for my first quiche ever and it was great! Very easy to do. I used a frozen pie crust to make it easier. Also cooked the bacon and yellow onion the night before my brunch to cut down on prep time that morning. Used cheddar cheese since that is what we had. Looking forward to trying the Gruyere and other filling combos. Used a deep dish pie crust and the quantities were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Pretty good. I make a few changes (of course)- I use a combination of Gruyere and Swiss cheeses, regular onion instead of green, and I break up the broccoli into really small florets (larger pieces don't cook properly which is kinda icky). I also just mix the veggies in with the eggs, cheese, cream and seasonings, and pour everything into the pie crust. This is one of my favorite quiches. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I have renamed this. Macho Men Only quiche. This was very good. The only thing I changed was I used fresh aspargus instead of broccoli and added fresh mushrooms which I sauteed in a tiny bit of bacon grease. I also made my own pastry. Highly reccommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Wonderful! The variations on this could be endless. I used a frozen pie shell (did not thaw) and it made the prep really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This recipe is awesome! I cut the recipe in half & made it for my husband & myself and I'm ashamed to say we ate it all in one sitting! The only thing I changed was I used swiss cheese instead of Gruyere and it was delicious, I left out the broccoli and nutmeg, used crushed red pepper flakes instead of cayenne pepper, and used a seasoning mix of salt, pepper, garlic and onion to taste [similar to Paula Deen's house seasoning]. I will definately make this for the next special occasion that comes along....highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by btgill

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This was very good, I liked the flavor and texture. We had it for dinner tonight and I'm looking forward to the leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Since my pie pans are bigger it made one pie and enough leftover for a small tart pan. I didn't have to cook it longer either. I didn't use salt and pepper but since we like lemon and herb on broccoli and in eggs I used some of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Minderella
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I made this recipe exactly as it's written except I had to substitute Gouda for the Gruyere cheese since my grocery had none. This quiche looked and tasted fantastic! This recipe is definitely a winner and very easy. It tasted so much better than the quiche I had at a restaurant's fancy brunch. You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minderella

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
This is one of my favorite quiche recipes. I use my own crust. I made this for a bridal brunch and this was the first one to go. Not too heavy, lots of flavor. I used the recipe as stated on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
This was a tasty quiche. I did not have Gruyere cheese, so I used shredded sharp cheddar instead. I used 1/2 cup diced & sautéed Vidalia onion to replace the green onions, too. To cut the fat, I used 1% milk. Just for kicks, I added about a tablespoon of feta cheese... YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stewart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbiana, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quiche Lorraine I

See how to make an impressive classic with eggs, bacon, and Swiss cheese.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States