Garbage Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2001
This recipe is an excellent dish for a party! My friends are asking to make them a pie till this day. I did a couple of different things. I used whole wheat pie crust, I made one pie with chedder and one with guyere cheese yummy! I added shredded carrots, spinache broccoli, red bell peppers, tomatoes. Instead of cayenne pepper I used black pepper. They don't call it garbage quiche for nothing you can add what you like! I'm going to make another pie with the same basic ingredient except I'll add spinach and seafood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Awesome! My husband (a chef) loved it too. We participate in a veggie co-op and I this week I got some Swiss chard that I didn't know how to use. I put the Swiss chard along with some mushrooms and broccoli in this quiche. Fantastic! I also used cheddar and mozzarella cheese because it was what I had on hand. We had it for dinner tonight and have a whole other quiche that I will take to work for lunch for the week. Lucky me! Even our extremely picky three-year-old ate it without (much) complaint. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I cut the recipe in half, used leftover Christmas ham instead of bacon, kept the green onions and tomatoes at the same amount and I used three large eggs. Because I was out of fat free half-n-half, I used fat free evaporated milk. I did throw in one small chopped organic red pepper, a little dijon mustard, onion/garlic powder, and a little Frank's Hot Sauce. We all liked this, though for a half recipe, I'd like to double the cheese next time. This was a great way to use up odds and ends in the fridge and leftover Christmas ham. We ate this with leftover Unbelieveable Rolls, which are also from this site. NOTE: I did scrape out most of the innards from my roma tomatoes so they wouldn't water down or gooey up the quiche. I just cut it in half length-wise, then carefully used a spoon to scrape out the seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
Very tasty quiche - I cooked one and froze the other to eat later. It took a little longer to cook than the recipe called for - about an hour and 15 minutes total. Next time I plan to use more spices - I think I'll chop up a few cloves of garlic and add some red pepper flakes or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I've made a lot of quiches, but Hubby said this was the best! I stumbled upon this recipe because I had some Gruyere cheese to use up, and this proved to be a real winner. Made it exactly like the recipe except used cherry tomatoes instead of Roma. Also, it was done about 10 min. before the recipe said. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I made this dish for dinner tonight and it was the best quiche I have ever tasted! My husband loved it too. I substituted cheddar cheese & yellow onion, and skipped the tomatoes. Also, I used 2% milk instead of half and half, to lighten it up, and it was still delicious. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Awesome! I made this in two separate bowls and pans using different ingredients (ham, cheese, onions, mushrooms in one and turkey, cheese, brocc, and spinach in the other). I cut the center out of some squares of tin foil and covered the crust area after the first fifteen minutes to keep it from burning. Worked great! Cooked perfectly and set up in 10 minutes afterward. Got tons of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue Jay Girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I have renamed this. Macho Men Only quiche. This was very good. The only thing I changed was I used fresh aspargus instead of broccoli and added fresh mushrooms which I sauteed in a tiny bit of bacon grease. I also made my own pastry. Highly reccommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
love the nutmeg and cayenne in this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
This was a tasty quiche. I did not have Gruyere cheese, so I used shredded sharp cheddar instead. I used 1/2 cup diced & sautéed Vidalia onion to replace the green onions, too. To cut the fat, I used 1% milk. Just for kicks, I added about a tablespoon of feta cheese... YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stewart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbiana, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quiche Lorraine I

See how to make an impressive classic with eggs, bacon, and Swiss cheese.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States