Garbage Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Awesome! My husband (a chef) loved it too. We participate in a veggie co-op and I this week I got some Swiss chard that I didn't know how to use. I put the Swiss chard along with some mushrooms and broccoli in this quiche. Fantastic! I also used cheddar and mozzarella cheese because it was what I had on hand. We had it for dinner tonight and have a whole other quiche that I will take to work for lunch for the week. Lucky me! Even our extremely picky three-year-old ate it without (much) complaint. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Awesome! I made this in two separate bowls and pans using different ingredients (ham, cheese, onions, mushrooms in one and turkey, cheese, brocc, and spinach in the other). I cut the center out of some squares of tin foil and covered the crust area after the first fifteen minutes to keep it from burning. Worked great! Cooked perfectly and set up in 10 minutes afterward. Got tons of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue Jay Girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I cut the recipe in half, used leftover Christmas ham instead of bacon, kept the green onions and tomatoes at the same amount and I used three large eggs. Because I was out of fat free half-n-half, I used fat free evaporated milk. I did throw in one small chopped organic red pepper, a little dijon mustard, onion/garlic powder, and a little Frank's Hot Sauce. We all liked this, though for a half recipe, I'd like to double the cheese next time. This was a great way to use up odds and ends in the fridge and leftover Christmas ham. We ate this with leftover Unbelieveable Rolls, which are also from this site. NOTE: I did scrape out most of the innards from my roma tomatoes so they wouldn't water down or gooey up the quiche. I just cut it in half length-wise, then carefully used a spoon to scrape out the seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I've made a lot of quiches, but Hubby said this was the best! I stumbled upon this recipe because I had some Gruyere cheese to use up, and this proved to be a real winner. Made it exactly like the recipe except used cherry tomatoes instead of Roma. Also, it was done about 10 min. before the recipe said. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This was good. But my family didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happymonkeez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yazoo City, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Webb, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
this was very good, nice consistency and good flavor. I made a few changes based on what I had on hand...omitted the green onions, used 5 slices of bacon and used yellow and big boy tomatoes (seeded.) I used a smoked cheddar, but would like to try it with gruyere. I was able to fit it in one deep dish pie plate and it cooked in the same amount of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This was my first quiche, and I couldn't be happier! I used "Easy Pie Crust" recipe from this site posted by B1BMOM because it looked the fastest (I normally use pre-made from the market). I highly recommend this nontraditional, but excellent crust. Seriously - try this! I don't know how it would work for pies, but for this quiche it was perfect!! Didn't have Gruyere, so used mostly cheddar with a few sprinklings of feta. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Good. Could be better. The tomatoes makes it very watery. Could use a more appetizing name too. When asked what the name of the meal it is doesn't sound too good to have to say "garbage quiche". haha Over all not a bad dish. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUBLIMEMIND82
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Good base recipe - I really didn't use any of the ingredients listed except for the egg base and spices. For the filling I used some spicy breakfast sausage, frozen broccoli, green onions, garlic, grape tomatoes and a marble cheese mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUBLIMEMIND82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
YUM YUM, I used fresh asparagus instead of brocolli and served with a caesar salad. I like that it makes 2 pies - leftovers for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quiche Lorraine I

See how to make an impressive classic with eggs, bacon, and Swiss cheese.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States