Garbage Plate Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This hot sauce would make Nick Tahou of Rochester proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
12.24.13 - In an effort to replicate another Rochester joint's flavor (Charlie Riedel's), I followed my brother's advice and made the following changes: Made it with vegetarian "beef" crumbles so that DBF could partake Left out cloves and cinnamon Added a tiny bit of olive oil with the "beef" Did NOT stick the "beef" in a blender Next time, I may cut back on the black pepper a little and leave out the cumin. 02.02.14 - Made this for party, doubled recipe (still vegetarian), kept other mods and halved black pepper and cumin. 05.02.14 - No cumin, cinnamon, or cloves. Halve the black pepper. Add a little bit of olive oil (for veggie ground).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I'm from Rochester and missed the little things now here in Portland Oregon. Thanks for a taste of home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Im from Rochester ny and my family loves this hot sauce! I do omit the thyme! this is a great recipe! i make this monthly to go with our homemade garbage plates!! try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Awesome! Perfect on Zwiegle's White Hots (Another Rochester must have!) and burgers, potatoes and mac salad!!It looks gross when you dump it all over your plate (Thus the name Garbage Plate) but you will savor EVERY BITE, I assure you! It should be more watery than "Gravy like", so expect that. I adjust the recipe for 24 or more servings and freeze it in small containers so we can take out how much we need and it's always available. Thank you Mrs.Jones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
As a current resident of the ROC this is the best I have seen for a homemade garbage plate hot sauce. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I made this Vegetarian, using Beefless Ground Beef. HOLY MOTHER IT WAS AMAZING. I spooned it over diced potatoes that I baked in the oven. I added extra Chili Powder, Cayenne, Cinnamon, and gave it a dash of Tobasco sauce. ALL TOGETHER IT WAS ONLY 402 CALORIES! Definitely making this a staple meal. Thank you SO much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I just got done making this. I am a Rochester native but also a vegetarian so I've always gotten the grilled cheese garbage plate without the meat hot sauce. I made this for me and my husband with veggie burgers and I used tofu crumbled up for the hot sauce. They came out great! My (non-vegetarian) husband said they tasted just like Nick Tahou's! I didn't have the allspice or thyme but the hot sauce was delicious!! To make it with the tofu I squeezed out the excess water and baked the tofu at 375 for about 25 minutes to get rid of some of the water. Then I simmered the tofu adding a little oil and all the ingredients and then added water until it was the right consistency. You really can't taste the tofu (and what a healthy alternative!). This sauce was really great and the garbage plates hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This recipe turned out horrific. I was so looking forward to it but the vinegar was still present even after the full cooking time and then some. Also the cinnamon, allspice and clove mix was just too over powering. I wish I could have some how saved it by doctoring it up but the combination of spices were too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dragonfly22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kemblesville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I saw this on a food channel, and it looked and sounded good. I have never been to Rochester so I have nothing to compare it to. The only ingrediant I did'nt have was allspice, everything I followed to the T. I think "IF" I ever make it again I will cut the clove to just a pinch, ( still tasting them today), maybe more chili and cayenne .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Carolina-Style BBQ Sauce

See how to make tangy Carolina-style barbeque sauce.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States