Garbage Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I make a similar recipe. The difference is that I bake my potatoes. Sometimes the night before. I always have a few baked potatoes in the fridge ready to go. Take them out. Chop them up. It's nice to have when you have a craving in the morning for fried potatoes & eggs. One of my favorites. What other veggies do you have that are ready to go to veggie heaven. Chop them up & throw them in. Yum A little chopped up garlic is always good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
These were real good. Love the name of this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Really really good.....how can u go wrong with these home fries....I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned and red onion as well as the red and green peppers. Also used olive oil. Thanks for a yummy side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I've been making fried potatoes since I was tall enough to reach the stove. My family used to use bacon grease and not oil, but I now use butter. One-half stick of butter, sliced potatoes, onions, salt, & pepper. I like the additions of the bell pepper, but never have tried it with the mushrooms, but will the next time. Thanks! Now the secret to getting them to brown good and crispy is an iron skillet! None of that non-stick frying pan for this old lady. LOL Keep a lid on it at first, until the potatoes get cooked through, then remove the lid and turn the potatoes, to brown throughout for a nice mixture of browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Love 'em...thank you...was tired of the same old tators! I did also add garlic and used lawery's seasoning salt...but that's all I did different! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Great easy recipe. I did pop the potatoes in the broiler for a few minutes to get them crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Very good, but don't stir so much unless you want a big pile of mushy potatoes:) Let them sizzle in the oil & crisp up a bit. I add cheese too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Cute name for home fries - the whole time I was making them I expected "Oscar the Grouch" to pop out of my garbage can and ask when they were going to be done. (HA) I used a little butter and garlic along with the oil (cut the oil down a bit) and instead of thing slicing the potatoes I cubed mine. These are great with eggs, bacon, and toast -YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Super yummy. I used half EVOO and half bacon grease. I also used 4 oz. fresh mushrooms, added a few cloves minced garlic and all red pepper (we don't like green peppers). I did sprinkle a little of Trader Joe's 21 Seasoning Salute over the potatoes while they were browning. I served this with South of the Border Scrambled Eggs and my kids and I were in HEAVEN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I usually dice up my potatoes for breakfast potatoes because they cook quicker, I followed the recipe and sliced them but I could never get them to finish cooking all the way. I liked the veggies, I ended up using green, red and yellow peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States