Garbage Can Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I was at a friend's cottage this summer and her husband made this - when she said we were having garbage can turkey, a few of us looked at each other in trepidation, but it was AWESOME! The turkey was moist and falling off the bone. And what a great way to have a turkey on a summer day without heating up your house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Great recipe! As a scout leader I have done over 100 various versions of this recipe over the years. To create a more perfect wheel, I combined a bunt pan and a mechs jack stand to create a reusable turkey stand. The jack stand is seperated to allow the bunt pan to slide over the jack stands shaft. then the top is repinned back in its upright postion. Wrap the whole thing in foil and waaallaaa! Insert the over the top of the stand and your all set. The stand is ajustable for chicken, of bigger birds, and the bunt pan catches all the drippings, thus allowing the makeings for gravy too! The bunt pan also stops the bird from sliding onto the foil below. Try this if you use it alot, and try a herb and butter rub between the skin and meat too! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
THIS WAS AWESOME!!! Will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This is easy and good. Turkey is always moist. Like others, we have done this when camping and at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
If you use a wood dowel 3/4" and put a bunt cake pan at the bottom, it can catch the juices and make an awesome turkey. Did it last year and was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Columbia Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I have been doing this for years. We camp and do it there most of the time. the night before we actually cook the turkey we have a huge camp fire and burn all the bad things off the can in the bon fire, by the next day the can is ready to cook the turkey. It comes out perfect every single time. No need to add any beer cans or anything to it. Juicy, smokey and just simply wonderful every single time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I've done this many times while camping through the summers. We have found that it doesn't seem to matter if it's hot out or cold and snowy. It always works out great. You should also try it with a couple chickens, one on top of the other, and reduce cook time to about 1 hour. Also good using a pork loin or eye of the round, again reducing cook time. Season to taste. Be careful when removing can. Ashes can blow around, especially on a windy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Please do not use a galvanized garbage can. The zinc fumes are toxic. It will also seep into the turkey and thus you can get poisoned eating it. If you are using a galvanized garbage can, please burn the inside off first! Just don't inhale the fumes! We would hate to have someone in the hospital on Thanksgiving Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I have made turkeys like this for years for our Boy Scout troop. It is easy, delicious, fun, great for camping, and always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This is a great way to make turkey, it comes out moist and juicy. I used a beer keg with the bottom cut out and charcoal around the bottom and on top of the keg then added a thermometer on the side to watch the temperature. The turkey came out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States