Garbage Can Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I have done this 6 or 7 times. It is wonderful, I use a large injection needle for the marinade. I also do a spicy rub and let it sit in the refrigerator for a couple of days to absorb all the flavors. Making an aluminum rack for the bird was easy, I took a 4' piece of flat stock from Tractor Supply, cut it in half bent it leaving a small area to bolt it together. That gives me a 4 leg holder that can be put through the dishwasher. Using a galvanized can does NOT pose a health issue. It does NOT get hot enough to vaporize the plated zinc. The zinc plating needs to be burned and you have to inhale the fumes (like from a cutting torch) for quite a long time. At that point you may get Anosmia which can effect your sense of smell but that takes a ton of breathing it. If you take cold pills they contain zinc, as a matter of point zinc is required for a number of healthy reasons.. Cook your bird and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This is a great way to make the perfect turkey, outside. It is extremely moist because it cooks so fast, and does not have a chance to dry out. Here is a video of the same process: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zWZxkK8JUPk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Don't use a zinc coated garbage can to cook in. The metal zinc platting will outgas into your food and is toxic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
We've done this a number of times, the turkey turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
My hostess used mesquite flavored charcoal and the meat was so juicy and flavorful, I couldn't believe it had only cooked for 2 hours ! There was a faint charcoal hint to the flavor, which I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Had entire family at cottage this past weekend, 90+ outside and I annouced we were having turkey. Everyone thought I was crazy. My son helped me with my adventure. I used suggestions from others and used a bundt pan to "sit" the turkey in and used 4 wire bent coathangers, covered in aluminum foil, push up the pan into the bird as the support. Soaked the bird in "out of this world brine" by SUDEMERS from Allrecipes. This was the best turkey we have had! We will now be cooking our Thanksgiving turkey this way. would give more than 5 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irondequoit, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I use a steel stake wrapped in foil. also use a bunt pan. stake goes right through the middle of pan and collects all the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This works great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seabrook, Texas, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Excellent Way to do a Turkey. Moist everytime. I rub the inside and outside of the bird with spices before I put it on the stick. There is not any issue with using galvanized cans for cooking, as some major BBQ grill manufacturers have switched to galvanized. When galvanized metal has reached such a high temperature it vaporizes (as in welding) it becomes an issue. Your garbage can will not come close to this temperature to lech zinc into your food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
my husband loves making turkey this way. it is good but I like the traditional way. still tender & juicy very the second time around. good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosella

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Deep Fried Turkey

See how to deep fry a crispy skinned turkey in 45 minutes or less!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States