Garam Masala Seared Salmon with Coconut-Curry Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This was very good. I substituted the cup of butter for natural yogurt and I also added a little brown sugar. I mixed the garam masala with wholewheat flour for a crispy crust to the salmon. Thanks, will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
LOVED IT! Have shared the recipe (and my jar of Garam Masala) with a dear friend. Had it with rice and steamed broccoli. Delicious and different. Thanks Ryan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by unfurledgirl
Home Town: Granville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Yum! This tasted great; I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I used Rainbow Trout instead of Salmon, and baked the Trout instead of searing it. But when i baked it, i forgot to rub it with garam masala. The sauce is really good, however, it took me about 20 min to reduce it. I also had to use some sugar and salt to add a bit of taste to the sauce. It was really great on the fish. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I have made this recipe two times now, for the first time I followed it almost exactly, for the second time I made it with modifications and found it great. I would like to say, if you are looking for an authentic Indian recipe, this is not this. This is a good fusion recipe using Indian ingredients and French technique. My modifications: 1/2 cup coconut milk and 1/3 cup cream for more coconut flavor, I found the coconut flavor a little subtle with 1/3 cup. And I used just 1/3 cup butter and it was enough. 1 cup butter makes the sauce very fatty. The butter makes the sauce thick, but if you serve the sauce hot, the butter melts and the sauce won`t be thick both with 1 and 1/3 cup. So I found no much difference how many butter you use. Overall, this is a good recipe with very interesting flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I loved this recipe! Instead of using salmon, I used chicken. I only used 1 tablespoon of garam masala on the chicken. It looked like 2 tbs would be too much. I also used salted butter rather than unsalted butter. I ate mine with just regular frozen green peas and on rice. I think next time, a nice yogurt drink would taste great w/ it and would make this recipe PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelayna
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Hmm, yummy. Despite of the alterations I made this recipe still turned out great. I used milk and the sauce was a bit runny but when drizzled on rice it was just fine. I didn't pan-fried the fish, but baked it instead. I'm going to have this dish again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
GREAT....I can hardly wait to try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I thought it was pretty bland - could be because I'm Indian and thought this would have a lot of flavour with the garam masala but that wasn't the case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Pretty good. My sauce turned out very runny, not sure if that is correct or not. But I would have preferred a thicker sauce. Boyfriend liked it as well. Probably won't be on heavy rotation, but I will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Seared Salmon

See a quick, high-heat, pan-searing method for cooking salmon on the grill.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States