Garam Masala Seared Salmon with Coconut-Curry Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Made this recipe as written...absolutely yummy. Did garnish with fresh cilantro but that isn't changing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
It turned out to be wonderful! My husband says he is looking forward to it again soon since I made a whole batch of sauce and only two portions of salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Really good. I used just coconut milk, cut butter in half, and served on tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Very good. Everyone like it, no one raved. Might make again. I would not make this with Salmon again...not good enough to justify the cost. There are much better salmon recipes out there. This may be good with another fish or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
The seasoned salmon was delicious. I had to remind myself that this is not a sauce, but a flavored butter. As such, it is good, although a bit flat in flavor, and it is so buttery that I had to use it sparingly. I will try to make a sauce of it, as others suggested, by reducing the amount of butter, increasing the coconut milk, and perhaps adding some yoghurt. It is good idea for an Indian-type curry sauce that is quick, easy and versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I substituted shrimp instead of salmon we all really liked it...I'm making it again in a couple weeks=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
The idea of this sounded so good, but none of us were very impressed with this, we didn't think it was worth the work or expensive ingredients. It was just disappointing for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This was very nice! I just couldn't bring myself to use an entire cup of butter, I used less than half and a full can of lite coconut milk (no cream). I ended up having to add a little cornstarch but it worked out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I was a little disapppointed in this recipe. I loved the idea, but it didn't exactly work out as planned. I did enjoy the garam masala with the salmon - that part was delicious. But the butter sauce was not good... perhaps my choice of white wine was not good, but that's all I could taste, and it overwhelmed any butter or coconut milk flavor. I was only able to save the sauce by using a couple teaspoons of white sugar. After that, we enjoyed it on the salmon, but I'm not sure we'll make this again. Thanks for giving me an opportunity to use garam masala, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Best salmon I've ever had, I had no white wine though so I substituted with a mixture of apple juice and rice wine vinegar... turned out fantastic!!! Absolutely love this recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Seared Salmon

See a quick, high-heat, pan-searing method for cooking salmon on the grill.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States