Garam Masala Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This chicken is probably some of the best that I have made in a long time. Great flavor, not spicy, but I love all the spices that go into garam masala. My parents came over to eat, and my dad was surprised that there was cinnamon, which gives it an unexpected flavor to the dish. With this cooking method, the chicken came out very moist and tender so that was perfect. My five year old and two year old loved it, ate their portions AND asked for more! I will be making this recipe again soon. Thank you, breezermom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe and took the advice of others to add a few peas. I served it over Jasmin rice and it was so flavorful! Will definitely make this again. Very simple to put together, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I LITERALLY VOMITTED ALL OVER MYSELF AND MY MOTHER. YOU.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Added peas and rice and I thought it was really easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Agree this is an excellent, simple and quick base alone or to add to. To enhance: suggest carrots and onions, and to enhance flavor use chicken broth instead of water and add some ginger. To kick it up, add some red pepper. The Basmati rice is a must, and cooking in clay pot on 400 for about 45 minutes soaked in the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Garam Masala is an Indian spice blend, there are several recipes for it on Allrecipes - it's also available commercially. I used a commercial variety. Although I don't think this is a very authentic Indian recipe, it' still very tasty. I think the author could have added that it should be served with basmati rice because it just doesn't make it alone. I made it just as written (but served it with rice), next time I'll add something to it - maybe green peas would be a good addition. Hubby gave it a 4 and I agree. It's a good way to use boneless chicken and is relatively low fat. I thought it was very, very good, but it's not "the best light chicken dish I ever had".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I couldn't find Garam Masala at my grocery store, so ended up using a random Indian spice mix that sounded similar. Not sure how similar it was to Garam Masala. I also ended up using fire diced tomato's because that was all that i had it my cupboard. So i am not sure how similar to the original recipe it ended up being! Regardless, it was very tasty and i will definitely make it again! I would agree with the above reviewer in saying that it would be good with rice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I added the peas, as many suggested, and my family - not particularly versed in indian food ( I was breaking them in easy) - LOVED it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonnie Doty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Amazing! My kitchen smells wonderful from that spice blend (recipe also available here). served over steamed corn, carrots and asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This was good and I followed the advice of the others and added peas as well as carrots with mine. That really bolstered the taste and made it a very hearty dish, along with some long grain white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samregshilew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Garam Masala Chicken

See how to make tasty grilled chicken with garam masala seasonings.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States