Garam Masala Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I think I'll stick to my regular Indian dishes. Having only the garam masala--and too much of it at that--made this a little bitter. I realize this is a light dish, but it still seemed to be missing something. Maybe basmati rice would help balance things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Garam Masala is an Indian spice blend, there are several recipes for it on Allrecipes - it's also available commercially. I used a commercial variety. Although I don't think this is a very authentic Indian recipe, it' still very tasty. I think the author could have added that it should be served with basmati rice because it just doesn't make it alone. I made it just as written (but served it with rice), next time I'll add something to it - maybe green peas would be a good addition. Hubby gave it a 4 and I agree. It's a good way to use boneless chicken and is relatively low fat. I thought it was very, very good, but it's not "the best light chicken dish I ever had".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This was so easy to make and tasted great! I cut the chicken into cubes, used about 3 tsp garam masala, used a white onion instead of green onions, and also added peas like other reviewers. Then I served it over white rice. Oh, and I also added some extra salt too. I found a pre-made garam masala spice at my local health food store in the bulk spice section and that is what I used. This was my first attempt at an Indian inspired dish and was very happy with the results! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Agree this is an excellent, simple and quick base alone or to add to. To enhance: suggest carrots and onions, and to enhance flavor use chicken broth instead of water and add some ginger. To kick it up, add some red pepper. The Basmati rice is a must, and cooking in clay pot on 400 for about 45 minutes soaked in the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I added the peas, as many suggested, and my family - not particularly versed in indian food ( I was breaking them in easy) - LOVED it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonnie Doty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe and took the advice of others to add a few peas. I served it over Jasmin rice and it was so flavorful! Will definitely make this again. Very simple to put together, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Added peas and rice and I thought it was really easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I couldn't find Garam Masala at my grocery store, so ended up using a random Indian spice mix that sounded similar. Not sure how similar it was to Garam Masala. I also ended up using fire diced tomato's because that was all that i had it my cupboard. So i am not sure how similar to the original recipe it ended up being! Regardless, it was very tasty and i will definitely make it again! I would agree with the above reviewer in saying that it would be good with rice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I made a few changes. Used fresh garlic and cooked on a low simmer for a couple hours. Added green onions at the very end so they didn't go to mush. Turned out pretty good for such a simple recipe. Good change from my mainly Vietnamese cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This was good and I followed the advice of the others and added peas as well as carrots with mine. That really bolstered the taste and made it a very hearty dish, along with some long grain white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samregshilew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Garam Masala Chicken

See how to make tasty grilled chicken with garam masala seasonings.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States