Gandule Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This was great! I am from Hawaii and while this is not an authentic Puerto Rican recipe, the people of Hawaii have adopted it and put their own twist on it. With that said, I love it with the black olives. For authentic ethnic recipes, one should go online and research them - there are many! One note is that I too used the goya sazon (never heard of them when I lived in Hawaii). It's a must-have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2000
THE BEST EVER. WANT TO THANK THE PERSON FOR THIS WONDERFUL RECIPE. EVERYBODY THAT TASTED IT HAS ASKED ME FOR THE RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I love this recipe...It is just like the way we always make it in Hawaii. I have ordered it here in Texas from a woman from Puerto Rico who used to have a restaurant here and they used green olives and garbonzo beans in both their gandule rice and pastele which I don't like. This is a true Hawaii recipe! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2001
I am a white girl and my hubbie is hard core puerto rican. I wanted to cook him some puerto rican food so I tried this. WOW!!! He said that I cooked better than his Grandma and whole family. The only problem is that now his whole family wants me to cook it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Loved it! Worth standing in the kitchen for! Really ono (delicious) it reminds me of my grandma's rice. I will be making it this way again and again from now on. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri   Yaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
WOW - this is awesome!! I scaled down, and used brown rice. I also used a package of Goya seasoning instead of the seeds. I cannot wait to have leftovers!! This will perfectly satisfy my craving for rice and beans from my favorite restauant. I used pork and chicken. I will make this again. Do try this, it will not disappoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Muy bueno! It's perfect for anyone who can't get a hold of some hard to find spices and condiments that I like to add when I can get them. My arroz con gandules recipe is very similar to this one. This one is very good, too. To make it more authentic use green olives stuffed with red peppers and add a few capers. If you want it like mi abuelita's then get yourself to the Asian market and buy some plantain leaves. Clean them well and use a couple to cover the rice (under the pot's lid) after the liquid evaporates (carefully wash them and use a damp cloth to clean). They give them that 'arroz apastelado' taste that my Boricua de pura cepa self loves. Also, I was taught to season the meat before browning it (with salt, oregano and black pepper), but every family has their own way of making their arroz con gandules. I like it any way I can get it ;), but prefer it with recao and an aji dulce or two added to the 'sofrito'. What can I say? I am a 'Sofrito Mamita'. I'd like to add that I use a lot less oil, but that I recognize that reducing the oil too much will affect the flavor. Experiment and tweak it to see what you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This is a great receipe. I did not cook it in a pot, instead I put it in the oven for about 2.5 hours. It did not burn like it does over the stove, I baked it at 450, then turned it down the last 45 minutes well worth the wait and it saved me from all the scrubbing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kihei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I altered this recipe by making it without the pork...and it turned out fantastic! To save time, I used 1 tsp of annatto powder. I cut recipe by half and used only 2 cups of Jasmine rice (adjust water accordingly). There was enough to serve 8 people...with leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali :-)

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Yum yum yum! It came out great....just like I remember it from a old family friend that moved here from Puerto Rico.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buchanan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States