Gandule Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
I love it but it can be made a lot easier with Sazon packets and Sofrito all products from goya.com The sofrito substitutes the onion, cilantro, garlic and black pepper. You need only add a few tablespoons of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This is a great receipe. I did not cook it in a pot, instead I put it in the oven for about 2.5 hours. It did not burn like it does over the stove, I baked it at 450, then turned it down the last 45 minutes well worth the wait and it saved me from all the scrubbing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kihei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This recipe dose not require alot of prep. All the prep is when you make real Sofrito( Culantro,cilantro,Bell peppers,Sweet jamican peppers,onions,and garlic) for a non fancy sofrito mix. as for the rice, start with aluminum rice pot. Vege oil bring to simer add sofrito tomato paste and/or tomato sauce add meat pork shoulder or smoked ham with skin and fat for that colestoral loving puerto rican authentic taste right of abuelas FOGON(wood stove). After simmering all for 15min add water,pigeon peas(gandules)green olives and some cappers. Turn heat up to high. When it's a boiling(big bubbles) add rice(long grain pref) let all come to a boil and water level to drop about 1/2inch above the rice. Turn heat down to medium and cover. Stir ocasionaly Short on recipe since we all like it diffrent but thats the standered hibaro puerto riqueno Arroz con gandules, minus the green olives and cappers that more for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tnyrs5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I learned to make arroz con gondules from my mother-in-law who is full Puerto Rican. You do not need to use so much oil, I use from 1/4 to 1/2 cup only for 3 cups of rice. I also use long grain rice and green olives, never black. A real plus to cutting down time for this is making up safrito (chopping in food processor, onion, green pepper, garlic, olive oil and cilantro and freezing them in ice cube trays - use one cube for every 1 and 1/2 cups of rice). I also sazon and tomato sauce about 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
Much prep time needed, but well worth the effort. Everyone loved it!! Just 2 hints--"real" Puerto Ricans use green olives!! When stirring the rice during the cooking process, be careful not to scrape the burnt rice off the bottom of the pot--this will cause the entire pot of rice to take on a burnt taste. Good Luck!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
For all the newbies. Go to the bodaga(store)and buy Goya sofrito, sazon, beans and pinch of salt and pepper 3 cups of rice, some hamon or bacon and your straight.... tonto
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Yum yum yum! It came out great....just like I remember it from a old family friend that moved here from Puerto Rico.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buchanan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Loved it! Worth standing in the kitchen for! Really ono (delicious) it reminds me of my grandma's rice. I will be making it this way again and again from now on. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri   Yaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This recipe was great. When the Puerto Ricans immigrated to Hawaii, Green olives were very expensive and not commonly stocked on grocer's shelves. This is the reason the people in Hawaii still use black olives in Puerto Rican cooking today. It's a Hawaii thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2000
The recipe was an easy one that's why I chose it and I also cheated I used the Sazon flavoring packets with coriander and achiote about 3 packets. It did take a while to cook it I eventually finished it in the microwave because I was afraid I'd burn it on the stove as it does burn on the bottom which is usual but I didn't want that burnt flavor to stay in the rice it did make a lot much more than twenty as I had more than twenty people over to eat and still had plenty to give away the flavor was good and I will try it again. Does anyone have a recipe for a much smaller batch say 4 to 8 servings instead??? Good luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amityville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States