Gandule Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2000
The recipe was an easy one that's why I chose it and I also cheated I used the Sazon flavoring packets with coriander and achiote about 3 packets. It did take a while to cook it I eventually finished it in the microwave because I was afraid I'd burn it on the stove as it does burn on the bottom which is usual but I didn't want that burnt flavor to stay in the rice it did make a lot much more than twenty as I had more than twenty people over to eat and still had plenty to give away the flavor was good and I will try it again. Does anyone have a recipe for a much smaller batch say 4 to 8 servings instead??? Good luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amityville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
This is really, really good rice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2000
THE BEST EVER. WANT TO THANK THE PERSON FOR THIS WONDERFUL RECIPE. EVERYBODY THAT TASTED IT HAS ASKED ME FOR THE RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
I love it but it can be made a lot easier with Sazon packets and Sofrito all products from goya.com The sofrito substitutes the onion, cilantro, garlic and black pepper. You need only add a few tablespoons of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2001
I am a white girl and my hubbie is hard core puerto rican. I wanted to cook him some puerto rican food so I tried this. WOW!!! He said that I cooked better than his Grandma and whole family. The only problem is that now his whole family wants me to cook it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
This was super easy and my hispanic husband loved it. My children thought it was too much stuff mixed together but I fooled them into eating it by separating the meat from the rice. I couldn't find the peas, so I substituted garbanzo beans. I have a large family and I liked having a one pot meal. I made an green avocado salsa to eat with it. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
Much prep time needed, but well worth the effort. Everyone loved it!! Just 2 hints--"real" Puerto Ricans use green olives!! When stirring the rice during the cooking process, be careful not to scrape the burnt rice off the bottom of the pot--this will cause the entire pot of rice to take on a burnt taste. Good Luck!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
The rice came out undercooked and pastey maybe it was my fault. -Big Jesse
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIG JESSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsville, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Loved it! Worth standing in the kitchen for! Really ono (delicious) it reminds me of my grandma's rice. I will be making it this way again and again from now on. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri   Yaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
WOW - this is awesome!! I scaled down, and used brown rice. I also used a package of Goya seasoning instead of the seeds. I cannot wait to have leftovers!! This will perfectly satisfy my craving for rice and beans from my favorite restauant. I used pork and chicken. I will make this again. Do try this, it will not disappoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States