Ganache I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by miaosherow
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This simple recipe sure does deliver. Follow the directions and make sure you DO babysit the heating cream. If you don't keep stirring, it can burn. Even doubled this recipe works well. I dipped some cupcakes right away and put the rest of the ganache away to cool. A few hours later, I whipped the part of the batch I refrigerated and it worked well as a frosting. Could be used as a cake filling, too! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Ganache recipes can vary greatly in chocolate to cream ratios - this version falls somewhere in the middle and is great! To simplify the process, I chop the chips in my food processor until they resemble fine crumbs. Then I heat the cream in a heavy bottomed saucepan until it just starts to bubble around the edges, pour the hot cream down the feed tube of the food processor, and give it a whirl... in seconds you have wonderful ganache. I should mention that chocolate chips contain stabilizers that allow the chips to keep their shape while warm, and those stabilizers don't melt down smoothly like chocolate does, so for a smoother finished product, I strain the warm ganache through a fine mesh strainer (this is not a necessary step, but will give more professional results). Use this ganache warm as a pourable glaze, let it cool to room temp (over night) and use like a standard frosting, or chill until firm and whip with a heavy stand mixer until it's lighter in color and spreadable. You can even use this ganache to make authentic chocolate truffles - just roll the chilled ganache (unwhipped) into balls and coat with cocoa powder, chopped nuts, or whatever. One more helpful hint: if you use this ganache to "frost" a cake, make sure the cake is brought to room temp before you try to cut it (using a hot knife). For added depth of flavor, try adding some liquor, vanilla, brewed coffee, or even coffee powder into the warm ganache mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
246 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATRINCIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
awesome. i love this, so easy but tastes amazing. however it doesnt really like to be refrigerated and re-incarnated in a double boiler. Iwould make when you want to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
easy and heavenly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Was very easy to make- I didn't particularly like the bitterness of it so I will try a different chocolate next time. Also, I must have overwhipped it (used it for a filling) because it became very crumbly and dry in my cake. :( Good recipe though- I'll try it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Wounderful after I removed it from the heat I added 2T corn syrup for a nice shine on my Black magic cake.My buddy told me it shined like his new Harley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
Sooooo good for chocolate lovers, like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
Good stuff. I was looking for a chocolate filling to use in a layer cake and appreciated the tip that you could whip ganache to transform it into filling. I found the ratio of chocolate to cream to be a bit high for a cake filling, so I added extra cream to yield a creamier texture. The result was a truffle-like filling. Delish! It's been said before, but do buy the best bittersweet chocolate you can. I used standard bittersweet baking squares and found I had to add a few tablespoons of powdered sugar to cut down on the bitterness. This basic recipe lends itself to personalization, whereby you could play with different flavored extracts to customize a flavor. But it's great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
Wonderful top to my shortbread and raspberry tarts! Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
Very Nice, This is a great recipe, easy, quick and is a big hit w/ all everytime. A little hint though, whatever you do make sure that it is completely cooled before frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

How to Frost a Cake

See simple steps to frost a cake like a professional baker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States