Game Hens Southwestern-Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I loved this recipe. The hens turned out super juicy and the salsa was amazing. Definitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This was came out so well and thankfully because my inlaws were coming over for the first meal I hosted for them. We are a mexican family so the chicken was delicious and together with the salsa(which was perfect and new) it was awesome. Its very good as is and Ive made it a few times since the very first time I tried it and I dont use measurements anymore. Just kinda eyeball according to your family's taste. I'm sure just for variation, you could try adding pineapple or mango pieces but I havent tried it yet. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bebebubu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
The recipe was very good especially the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Neferia16
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I agree with a lot of other raters who said that the chicken is a bit bland, however, it was cooked perfectly using the time stated in the recipe. It was very juicy and tender. The salsa was AMAZING! My husband loved it and kept eating the leftovers with chips. I added an extra jalapeno because we like spicy food, and it turned out great. I will definitely make the salsa again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neferia16
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This recipe is so delish! I've done it with game hens and with a whole chicken with delicious results both times. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Excellent recipe. I used chicken breasts instead of Game Hens, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. The only disappointment was that I didn't have any company to wow! I plan on making this one many times - and next time I will be inviting some guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I made this last night for dinner, but because I was lacking time and some ingrediants I only made the hens and opted not to make the salsa (even though I really wanted to try it!). I served the hens with potatoes and sugar snapped peas and the dinner was a hit. The only problem I ran into was the cook time for me was a good 30mins. longer than the suggested cook time in the recipe, and I only made 2 hens. But even leaving them in longer didn't dry them out and they still came out tender and moist. I would also suggest using a roasting rack instead of just sitting them in the pan, because I didn't think the bottom of the chicken was as crisp and flavorful as the top. I think the roasting rack would have prevented that. Overall a good recipe and I'll use it again, hopefully with the salsa this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannyBanany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This was a enjoyable dinner. The salsa called for a little too much garlic, next time I'll only add 1 clove. I also enjoy a lot of lime so more of that will be added next time as well. I did only add 1/2 red onion and that was a perfect amount. Other than that it was great. I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I used chicken instead of game hen to make this more budget friendly. I also cooked it on the rotisserie instead of the oven. The bird part of this recipe wasn't anything special. I'd give the corn salsa a 5 for both taste and presentation. They really should be listed separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Given that I made this meal for Christmas, the hens were just average and I needed to increase the baking time by 15 minutes as they didn't seem quite done. However, the corn salsa was absolutely FANTASTIC. The leftovers were great on plain old corn chips. By the way, I served homemade corn bread, rice with almonds and cranberries and a fruit salad with this dish. The fruit salad didn't really go with it but the kids had to have something to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Chef John’s Grilled Game Hens

This spicy, creamy, garlicky marinade is great for game hens or chicken pieces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States