Game Hen Stuffed with Wild Rice and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I increased the servings to 8 first. I simmered the rice in chicken stock instead of water. I sauted 2.5 oz of slivered almonds in the butter until golden. I added one pkg of chopped white mushrooms and a cup of chopped onion to the almonds. I added that to the cooked rice. Those additions made what was probably a great rice recipe into one of the best wild rice recipes I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phylicia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Alpine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I made this for Christmas for my extended family... first Christmas in charge of the bird/ first Christmas married! Everyone was raving about this recipe! The bird looks so good, and it tastes wonderful. A couple of adjustments I made: I added 1 can of cream of mushroom because other reviewers said the recipe was sometimes dry. Also, I added in the rest of my stuffing from stuffed mushrooms I had made the night before. Combined with a oil, vinegar, and rosemary marinade = perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This is a great simple recipe. The wild rice has a unique flavor and when paired with the hen it's wonderful. When you are in the mood for something different this is a great recipe to turn to. I was pleasantly surprised by how flavorful this dish was. It certainly was not dry as the other reviewer suggested. If you think that's going to be an issue roast it breast side down. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scatcat ~ Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bremond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I used this recipe on 2 hens (b/c that is how they were packaged) also used brown rice and used beef stock instead of water and added 1 tsp of both tarragon and sage to mushrooms as they cooked... my husband was IN LOVE!! I'd even use the same seasoning on Chicken Thighs and roast them on finished mushroom rice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ransom, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Hen was great and moist. I baked it in a glass covered dish and put a pan of water underneath it on lower shelf to help ensure moisture. Didnt love the rice though. Next time I plan to make some mushroom rice in a separate pot and put stuffing inside the hen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
The hen itself was very good, although I made sure to check it early to ensure it wouldn't dry out. The rice was a little bland and dry....I will try more seasonings with that next time. It was a good Sunday afternoon meal...one you can surely take a nap after!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vail0022

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
If you want a more flavorful rice, sautee onions and mushrooms with 3-4 minced garlic cloves. Instead of cooking rice in plain flat water, use half chicken broth and half amber beer. When mixing rice with sauteed mushrooms mixture, add also some dry cranberries and/or slivered almonds. Stuff the hen(s). To avoid that meat/rice dries out, baste hen(s) often with a mixture 1 cup chicken broth, 1/2 cup dry white wine, juice of one lemon and 3 tbsp of melted butter. You won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Very tastey and easy to make. I would make this again. The only disappointment I had was that the rice around the opening became dry and had a texture as if it wasn't cooked. Next time in addition to tying the legs together I'm going to do something better to keep the rice around the opening from being exposed while cooking to keep all of it moist and tender as it is delicious and worth eating. I cooked the rice in chicken broth instead of water and seasoned it lightly. I also dribbled the pan drippings over the finished hen too for a finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
it was really good but I found it a little dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Temp too high..reduce to 350. Also, cover the stuffing with tin foil while baking..reduces drying out. If the legs and wings look too brown during cooking..cover them with tin foil. Baste every 20 min. I made a compound butter of herbs d'provance and basted the tiny lovelies leaving out lemon juice (my husband doesn't like savory and citrus)and wine..wine tends to dry out things (as another reviewer commented as adding). Check the internal temp of Stuffing not bird. Juices should run clear. It should read 165 F. Put the birds on a wire rack..setting on base of pan will cause inadequate roasting. If you roast always use a roasting pan or wire rack. I also used a lot of the other comments made and checked online as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States