Game Day Hamburgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
Great Recipe! omitted the potatoes...mostly because of carbs. Didnt shread the cheese to make it easier. yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
Absolutely delicious. I used a can of chopped mushrooms in place of the fresh & cubed some white cheddar blended with mild cheddar. I also used 2-1/2 ounces of meat for each half & made 7 burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
The burgers were great! I,too,left out the potatoes (has fries on the side).Made huge patties.My son and husband ate every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
It's probably not fair to rate these burgers poorly since I didn't prepare them exactly as outlined in the recipe, but my son and I both thought they were a little nasty. For context, I am not a picky eater and my son is slightly picky. We left out the potatoes and used cheddar cheese instead of swiss. I have used onion mix for turkey burgers which was delicious. I thought using onion mix for beef would work great as well, but I was unhappy with the way they turned out. Though the burgers were cooked all the way through, the texture felt like they weren't. I love mushrooms, but I felt they didn't do anything for this burger except act as a filler. Maybe my expectations were too high, but these burgers just didn't do it for me. Thanks for the idea. It was worth a try and others report better results than me, so check them out - but don't expect a lot. The recipe doesn't call for much seasoning, but had a used salt and pepper, garlic salt or Lawry's, that may have redeemed the recipe, at least a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
My husband said that this was the best hamburger he had ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama2006

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
We left out the potatoe filling and ate hashbrowns as the side dish. Needs a little practice, but had a great flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
Very good, and we left out the potatoes and they turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
These were amazing! The first time we had them my husband was craving the leftovers all the next day! We've now made them twice, the first time with ground beef, and the onion soup (we also used the frozen hashbrowns instead of potatoes) and it was a bit to oniony for me (plus I really don't like beef), but we had them again this week with ground pork and I seasoned the meat with some dried onion, garlic and pepper and I liked it SO much more! SO YUMMY!! I can't wait to make them for a BBQ party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUCIFEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
Very good. Instead of making a pocket, I halved each burger, pressed the filling (mushrooms, cheese) on one of the halves and then placed the other half on top. Anyway these are a family favorite. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
These burgers are HUGE and very yummy. I used the shredded hashbrown poataoes as suggested and they worked great. I also used cheddar instead of swiss cheese. We'll make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Legendary Stuffed Hamburgers

These big beefy burgers have a savory bacon surprise in the center.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Cream Cheese Jalapeno Hamburgers

Delicious hamburgers with a cheesy, spicy surprise in the center.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States