Galuskies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
An even better recipe than I grew up with in Hays, KS!! Even my husband ate them, and he never liked the ones I had made before! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I grew up in Gove County so I know all about the Galuskies!!! I still live in the area and love eating them! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hill City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
These were SO GOOD! I made them for Thanksgiving "appetizers". only one person said they would try it. 5 people raved and asked not only for leftovers but the recipe as well. The stuffing is superb and I will make to stuff other things as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
My recipe for this is almost as good, passed down to me from my German grandmother who grew up in Ellis County Ks. We don't puree the sauerkraut and trying it both ways I like it better not pureed. We make them into round balls held together with a toothpick instead of rolling into cylinders. Also try adding a lot more onion. This is so good! Especially when the weather is cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
finally! someone who knows the value of hard work and we can recognize payoff yummmm! Been looking for this forever! Only difference (we're german) recipe calls for l/2 pork, l/2 beef. Love you Paper_boy21!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I agree with one other reviewer to add more onion, but aside from this - it was great! Just as I remember from childhood! Keep in mind that this recipe makes a ton. I cut it half and still had plenty for both hubby and myself for a couple of meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
In traditional German fashion (and midwestern in my experience, for that matter), there isn't much flavor. The taste of the cabbage is long boiled out, as is the flavor of the filling. Before I baked it, I was really excited about the stuffing, but after an hour and a half in the oven, it was pretty much a consistent flavor throughout. It was edible, filling, and rather healthy for the large amount of meat in it, but I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
There was a lot left to be desired for flavor. Kicking it up on the spices would definitely help. The texture was great. The cabbage was cooked perfectly for working with. I might try this again but definitely not as written, I will add typical sausage flavors to the mixture. Also, I might add a bit more sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ilikefrenchies
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This was good. I can see why some people said it was a little bland though, just add a little salt and pepper to the top of the galuskies before serving. I might also add a little more sausage next time. It was very good though, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Made these tonight. I've always been a big fan of Middle Eastern style cabbage rolls, so these looked like a nice change to a familiar theme. I basically made the recipe as written with the only changes being the spices I added to the meat as it was cooking. I added Nutmeg, Allspice, Garlic powder, Sage, and a small amount of Ginger. Had I not added the spices, this dish would have been considerably more bland. With the spice additions, and the accuracy of the directions given, I give this recipe a solid 4 stars. In addition, I made a creamy mustard sauce to go with the rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatsworth, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States