Galette des Rois Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
In France, we make our own almond paste. It's so, so easy to make. Mix butter,almond meal, sugar, eggs, rum & almond extract. I bake mine 375° for 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Absolutley delicious! I was too lazy to cut a circle so I just made mine square. And I drizzled a powdered sugar glaze over the top instead of sprinkling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I wish almond paste didn't gum up my food processor so much, but it is what it is. This recipe takes me back to Paris, France, my freshman year of college on my study tour in January. Very authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This was an amazing recipe! I used canned almond filling and omitted the sugar. Super easy and wonderful. Brought me right back to sitting around the table with my friend's French host family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Loved this recipe!!!! It was sooooo easy and quick to do. For years we have been buying expensive gallette des rois at a bakery and we made this recipe for the first time this year! It was great eating it right out of the oven - better than any we have purchased before. What a treat :o) My husband is actually the one who made it and he put extra almond paste in, just because he wanted to make sure it was really tasted, but we all agreed that next time he will only put the 1/4 cup in, just like the recipe says, because it would have been plenty. We are excited to have a new family tradition! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Very good, and a lot of fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
A hit amongst my family members. I placed the dessert in a square pan lined with parchment paper. When done i pulled it out of the pan. My familes favorite dessert now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This recipe is absolutely PHENOMENAL! I've made it a few times, and I always receive compliments on it (from French and non-French people alike). It's also very easy to veganize this cake by using vegan butter and replacing the egg with applesauce (which gives it an even better flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
The almond filling is great, although I did follow the suggestion of another reviewer and used the whole tube of almond paste with a bit of water. Unfortunately, I really am not a fan of puff pastry. I would not make this recipe again unless I can find a way to replicate the denser, tart-like crust of the actual french cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Broekhuizen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I live in New Orleans and this surpasses expectations! I make mine in the shape of the square pastry dough so that none of it goes to waste, and then I stick a plastic baby in the bottom after it is out of the oven. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States