Gale's Grilled Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
This simple marinade is wonderful...don't need another thing! Skewer together 6 or 8 to add to a steak BBQ. Cooked and peeled shrimp do equally as well, just cook til hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Followed exact. Used the outdoor grill. Best grilled shrimp I've ever had. Sometimes less is more. Simple ingredients. You can't go wrong with beer and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Awesome Shrimp! I will be using this recipe again. Very tasty and Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Faye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
After reading the wonderful reviews, I was anxious to try this recipe. I prepared it exactly as described, and marinated it for 3 1/2 hours- ample time for the flavors to delevop, according to the recipe guidelines. I LOVE garlic & I LOVE beer, so this sounded terrific! I was actually rather disappointed. The beer flavor was very subtle, and I used a fairly robust brew. The garlic was nice, but I'd have increased it a bit if I'd known how flat (no pun intended!) the overall dish would be. It was alright, certainly edible. We were planning to eat these as an appetizer. I also prepared an old standby recipe that evening (shrimp skewered with bacon & marinated in teriyaki sauce, then grilled) and those were a HUGE hit! The beer shrimp sadly languished on the plate... They might be better as part of a dish, like in shrimp tacos with other zippy ingredients. I really wanted to like these! So simple, and two of my favorite flavors. Just not anything remarkable, according to the friends we served them to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I love recipes that are simple and quick. I could definitely taste the beer. This was very good; thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
These were great and simple. We added a touch of tabasco sauce to the marinade to give it a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I have to admit I knew I would like this- but I didn't expect to love it as much as I did! Even my husband who doesn't care for shrimp ate two whole skewers of them! So delicious and so simple! The only thing I did different was sprinkle them with a little garlic salt right before they went on the grill as I hadn't marinated quite two hours and was afraid the garlic flavor hadn't infused. Make sure you use a beer you like cause the beer flavor is really prevalent. This recipe has me wondering what else I can marinate in beer and garlic cause the flavor combo is amazing!! Thanks so much Gale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Delicious! Didn't change a thing. Used Guinness beer and it was fantastic. I agree with another reviewer that sometimes less it more. Great recipe, Gale. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss margo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CindyLepp
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
SO EASY! Followed the recipe exactly! Just used a regular lite beer and put a heaping tablespoon of jarred garlic and they came out perfect. Squeeze a little lemon on before serving if you like lemon! I did skewer the shrimp and put directly on the grill, which I think gives a little more smoky flavor but you need to stand there and watch them They don't take long to cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

The tangy marinade makes the shrimp moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States