Galaktoboureko Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Save a ton of fat calories and make without a crust. Serve as a custard with the syrup and enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeTampa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This was amazing! Used it for a ladies dessert while planning a vacation to Greece this summer. Slight modifications only: I used less than 1/2 of the sugar water mixture because I sprinkled a mixture of cinnamon and icing sugar powder on the top before serving (sprinkle after you've cut it). I used a good quality pizza cutter to cut it. This worked really well. Lots of oouuwwss and auuwwees before and after. My daughter even took some pictures of it. Great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I have made a lot of galaktoboureko and this recipe is just about perfect. The only thing I changed was to put some orange zest and cloves into the syrup and I like to boil it about 10 minutes. I also cover the baking dish in phyllo so that it completely encloses the custard but that's a preference of mine. I was mostly looking for a good custard recipe and this one is the best I've found. I think it's the cornstarch that makes the difference. Thanks for sharing, GAPGIRL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Storrs, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
i'm not sure how to say it, but its delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This was excellent but myself and all of my Greek in-laws agreed it was a bit too gritty. I will try it again using a bit less semolina and a bit more milk. (maybe a tad more cornstarch to compensate for the missing semolina). I added the juice of 1/2 a lemon to the water/sugar syrup to cut a bit of the sweeteness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I have to admit, this recipe intimidated me at first. I followed the directions to a tee and Voila….A desert that looked and tasted like it came right out of a Greek bakery. Now, if I could only master pronouncing Galaktoboureko correctly :) It was enjoyed by us all! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This recipe looks just right! Semolina flour gives the particular grainy texture to the cream but flour may be substituted. The idea is to use very thin fyllo pastry as thick one is used for savoury pies and not to overcook the cream. Also, a little lemon/orange juice & rinds go in the cream. It should be served warm-ish and ideally the cream should just "hold itself" when serving the crispy phyllo pieces :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I made this for my boyfriend who is Greek and he really liked it. He said it's not as sweet as what he's used to but that can be easily modified. Other than that, he said it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elusivek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goffstown, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I love galaktrobureko. Comeing from a greek family you kind of have to!! I love it. Bravo!! Yassou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Not difficult to make if you are comfortable with phyllo dough but too grainy for my taste. I will be trying another recipe next time, one with more eggs and milk and less farina, I think, would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States