Galaktoboureko Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
On step #5 after you butter the layers of Phyllo dough put them in the oven bake for a while, remove and then add the custard. This will always prevent being soggy and the entire pie will be crisp. Just a thought...loved this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Konos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
One tip is to either have the syrup cool or the pan. The syrup needs to sizle when poured in the pan. Always cut the pieces before pouring the syrup so it can go in between. As well, i use a Stick of cinnamon, a few whole cloves and some rind of a lemon when boiling the syrup for extra flavour. Nice recipe though as a starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina_Papou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Very easy to make, very little mess and gone .... I added a cinnamon stick, couple of clovers and a few drops of lemon in the syrup. Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I added some of the butter to the custard filling. We all loved it. I saw a review on the other recipe that said you need to use at least 10 layers of phyllo on the bottom, and I may try that next time. Also, I added a little Grand Marnier and a cinnamon stick to the syrup for extra flavor. I may try using a bigger pan next time. Not difficult to make, and very impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Awesome! Yummy! It is quite a bit of work... but it is well worth it. Don't try making this when you are rushed. It needs a fair bit of time and patience. My whole family really enjoyed this dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
If you want an easy Greek dessert, make rice pudding. If you want a mind-blowing one, make this. Although time-consuming, it wasn't terribly difficult. I couldn't find semolina flour, so I used all-purpose, which made the custard lumpier than I would have liked, but once it was baked the lumps disappeared. I have sinceread elsewhere that farina can be substituted for the semolina. Aside from using all-purpose flour, the only change I made was adding a little cinnamon to the syrup. It was an excellent addition, giving the syrup a little more oomph. The custard was a little grainier than I expected, but that may have been my own fault, for the way I combined the egg mixture and the flour-milk mixture. Still incredibly delicious, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I halved this recipe and used wonton wrappers since I had no phyllo. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashathechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I made the recipe today for the first time and it turned out amazing. It reminded me of the galaktoboureko I get from the Greek Bakery but better. Definitely worth the effort to make. I used a pan that was bigger than the recipe called for so I increased all the ingredients proportionately and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Turned out just as good as Greek friend's! They said had better texture...Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
My favorite greek dessert. its best when its still warm and syrupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellymc125

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States