Galaktoboureko Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
I adored this desert as a child - having eaten it often in the Greek neighborhood in Chicago. I've never had a recipe to attempt to make it - this is wonderful!!! Fabulous and a trip for my taste buds down memory lane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
I made a big Greek dinner and wanted to do a dessert but was sick of Baklava so I tried this recipe. It was excellent and I highly recommened it. I made a half batch in a 8X8 pan and it still turned out beautifully. Thanks for the great recipe GapGirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELLYGIRL23
Home Town: Sultan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
This was soooo good, and according to the person who made it, not that hard to make. It was made for an office party, and disappeared quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
Deeeeeelicious! It certainly lives up to it's name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
This recipe looks a little intimidating, but it's surprisingly easy and extremely delicious! Even with the sugar glaze, it's not too sweet, just right. Review Update: I made it again last night. Still 5 stars, but not so easy this time. The phyllo dough can be troubling, but a little patience yielded excellent results. Everyone loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTSBELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
Super yummy goodness. That crispy phyllo is what it is all about. So good that it makes me want to travel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHAIRMAN2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
Great recipe! I was searching for something to get rid of my extra phyllo dough and found this. It was only my second time working with phyllo dough and it turned out to be delicious. I even gave some as a birthday present to a friend and she liked it. On a side note, I had to use regular flour instead of semolina and although the custard was lumpy before I baked it, it wasn't (or it was undetectable) when finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
Semolina flour was a little hard to find but it was worth the search! My dad and I agree, its just like Yia Yia used to make. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
delicious! i wouldn't change a thing. thanks gapgirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
this was a big hit at my greek-themed dinner party. In step two, I separated the eggs first. I whipped the whites by themselves. I added the yolks to the semolina mixture, then the vanilla, then the whites. I used about 7-8 phyllo sheets for the top and bottom layers. I didn't pour the entire pan over the sugar water...was a little freaked out that it would be runny. I also took a knife and ran along the edges of the pan (and poked a few holes in the top)which let some steam out and the sugar water could flow into in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States