Galaktoboureko Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
I made a big Greek dinner and wanted to do a dessert but was sick of Baklava so I tried this recipe. It was excellent and I highly recommened it. I made a half batch in a 8X8 pan and it still turned out beautifully. Thanks for the great recipe GapGirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELLYGIRL23
Home Town: Sultan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotty
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
This was hard. Way more steps than I like in a dessert. SO, worth the effort. I made it for a company function and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
Great recipe! I was searching for something to get rid of my extra phyllo dough and found this. It was only my second time working with phyllo dough and it turned out to be delicious. I even gave some as a birthday present to a friend and she liked it. On a side note, I had to use regular flour instead of semolina and although the custard was lumpy before I baked it, it wasn't (or it was undetectable) when finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Delicious!!!!!!! I will make this again and again! Most restaurants that serve this, it's all Phyllo and not much custard. This recipe is perfect. wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Pretty tasty, somewhat like sweetened Cream of Wheat. This recipe makes a lot, so make sure to adjust for the right size dessert. I added a touch of vanilla extract to the syrup. Easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Kueneman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Star, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I made this for my husband and his family who are Greek, and everyone loved it! They were amazed at how it tastes exactly like all the Greek women's recipes in their family! I will definately make this exactly as stated. I was a little unsure of the sugar water syrup, and thought I ruined it, but it turned out perfect - just like the greek pastry shops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
Semolina flour was a little hard to find but it was worth the search! My dad and I agree, its just like Yia Yia used to make. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
This recipe looks a little intimidating, but it's surprisingly easy and extremely delicious! Even with the sugar glaze, it's not too sweet, just right. Review Update: I made it again last night. Still 5 stars, but not so easy this time. The phyllo dough can be troubling, but a little patience yielded excellent results. Everyone loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTSBELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
Deeeeeelicious! It certainly lives up to it's name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
Super yummy goodness. That crispy phyllo is what it is all about. So good that it makes me want to travel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHAIRMAN2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States