Galaktoboureko Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This tasted delicious, but I must have done something a little wrong because the top crust was soggy and not crispy. Didn't have quite the same texture and consistency as the one from the Greek bakery, but it was very yummy. My friends, who have never had this before and so had nothing to compare it to, really loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I made this for my husband and his family who are Greek, and everyone loved it! They were amazed at how it tastes exactly like all the Greek women's recipes in their family! I will definately make this exactly as stated. I was a little unsure of the sugar water syrup, and thought I ruined it, but it turned out perfect - just like the greek pastry shops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Delicious!!!!!!! I will make this again and again! Most restaurants that serve this, it's all Phyllo and not much custard. This recipe is perfect. wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
My friends adored this recipe. Try it out, it isn't as hard as it looks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Pretty tasty, somewhat like sweetened Cream of Wheat. This recipe makes a lot, so make sure to adjust for the right size dessert. I added a touch of vanilla extract to the syrup. Easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Kueneman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Star, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
Semolina flour was a little hard to find but it was worth the search! My dad and I agree, its just like Yia Yia used to make. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
Great recipe! I was searching for something to get rid of my extra phyllo dough and found this. It was only my second time working with phyllo dough and it turned out to be delicious. I even gave some as a birthday present to a friend and she liked it. On a side note, I had to use regular flour instead of semolina and although the custard was lumpy before I baked it, it wasn't (or it was undetectable) when finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
EASY TO MAKE AND TASTED GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
I adored this desert as a child - having eaten it often in the Greek neighborhood in Chicago. I've never had a recipe to attempt to make it - this is wonderful!!! Fabulous and a trip for my taste buds down memory lane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Might be improved if you left off the sugar water topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Ricotta Pie (Old Italian Recipe)

A favorite Italian cheese pie.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States