Galaktoboureko Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This recipe looks just right! Semolina flour gives the particular grainy texture to the cream but flour may be substituted. The idea is to use very thin fyllo pastry as thick one is used for savoury pies and not to overcook the cream. Also, a little lemon/orange juice & rinds go in the cream. It should be served warm-ish and ideally the cream should just "hold itself" when serving the crispy phyllo pieces :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I made this for my boyfriend who is Greek and he really liked it. He said it's not as sweet as what he's used to but that can be easily modified. Other than that, he said it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Banshee Hews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goffstown, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I love galaktrobureko. Comeing from a greek family you kind of have to!! I love it. Bravo!! Yassou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Not difficult to make if you are comfortable with phyllo dough but too grainy for my taste. I will be trying another recipe next time, one with more eggs and milk and less farina, I think, would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was a lot of work, using a lot of ingredients and time. I served it with a greek dinner for five and we barely ate a third of it. The remainder sat in the fridge for a week before I tossed it. We found it quite bland; not unlike tapioca pudding with phyllo. Sorry, but next time I need a Greek dessert I will stick with balkava or lemon cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This tasked OK. I had some made by a true Greek and it tasted fabulous. It was hard comparing this to that. It was still OK. The texture was not as smooth as I thought. It also does not taste good after a couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
the phillo dough can be a hassle (better if you have a friend to help) but the sweetness and texture is excellent. i leave out the sugar syrup at the end cause it's just to sweet that way, but otherwise it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Ghose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dobbs Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
this was a big hit at my greek-themed dinner party. In step two, I separated the eggs first. I whipped the whites by themselves. I added the yolks to the semolina mixture, then the vanilla, then the whites. I used about 7-8 phyllo sheets for the top and bottom layers. I didn't pour the entire pan over the sugar water...was a little freaked out that it would be runny. I also took a knife and ran along the edges of the pan (and poked a few holes in the top)which let some steam out and the sugar water could flow into in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
delicious! i wouldn't change a thing. thanks gapgirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This tasted delicious, but I must have done something a little wrong because the top crust was soggy and not crispy. Didn't have quite the same texture and consistency as the one from the Greek bakery, but it was very yummy. My friends, who have never had this before and so had nothing to compare it to, really loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States