Gail's Seven Layer Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Wonderful! Made it for a luncheon at work and everyone scarfed it down quickly! I put together the lettuce, cabbage & carrot part in a large bowl last night. Then I diced my tomato, chopped the green onion, and crushed the chips and put them in individual containers. I put the salad altogether about half hour before serving. I used light Ranch dressing. Everyone loved the avocado! I will be making this again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
We had this for dinner on Friday night with leftovers on Saturday night. Excellent recipe. We made the following changes, we used fresh greens, chard, spinach and cabbage from our poly tunnel instead of lettuce. Left out avocado and used Chickpeas instead of beans. I made a ranch style dressing using yogurt and mayo, maybe a cup in total, which I split. I put half on top of the beans and half over the chips. I used mature cheader as it was all I had. Even my 12 year old daughter cleared 2 bowls of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
@12-1-11: This was excellent, as I recall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This was super delicious and easy to make. I used Ken's Buttermilk Ranch dressing and it was out-of-this-world. I only used about a cup of Fritos - and crushed them. However, I'm adding bacon to this next time! Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I gave this a 4, only because I changed a few things...I used black beans instead of pinto, and I also used Hidden Valley Ranch's Spicy Southwest Ranch. This is delicious, and even the "non-salad" type guys gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I did not change a thing and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I used black beans and thawed green peas. Put it in a trifle dish: beautiful! Great healthful choice for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I did tweak the ingredients to make it a "diabetic friendly" meat free dinner for my DH! In place of the carrots, cabbage and lettuce I combined a bag of classic salad mix with romaine lettuce for the base. On top of the lettuce I spread a layer of guacamole...hubby really dislikes avocados but they're soo good for him...then I replaced the tomatoes & onions with a generous cup of salsa spread over the gaucamole. Next I layered a can each of rinsed black and unrinsed pinto beans with chili seasonings. To cut calories and add dairy I mixed 1/2 bottle of light ranch dressing with 1 cup light sour cream and spread this over the beans and capped it all off with 1 cup of reduced fat shredded Mexican style cheese...placed in fridge for 30 minutes. Instead of adding the chips to the salad I crushed a quarter of the bag and sprinkled them over top right before serving. Viola...a healthy taco salad!!! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Amazing salad that goes well with any BBQ! As my husband has a latex allergy I have to omit the Avacados. Instead I add a pound of ground chicken that has been browned with taco seasoning. The kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie II

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolate_frenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Harvest Salad

A yummy salad to enjoy all year round.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States