Gail's Raisin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Thanks for the sharing your awesome recipe, Gail. I give this 5 stars too. A friend was about to pay a visit and I wanted to make a cake using the raisins I had. Then I found this recipe. First try, excellent result. My husband was first skeptical that I was going to serve first-try recipe, but I took the chance. And I didn't regret. Everybody loved it, including our 2 y.o.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibucarey
Home Town: Semarang, Jawa Tengah, Indonesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Wonderful! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This cake was really yummy & moist. It stayed very moist even after a few days. Everyone in my house loved it - I doubled the walnuts, added 1 tspn. vanilla extract & 1 tspn. walnut extract to the raisin mixture (after cooling). I also substituted margarine for butter because I didn't have any and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
OMG this cake is to DIE for!!!! Soooo moist and yummy!!!! I used a bundt pan and 1tsp salt and it came out awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Warren, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
WOW!! This is an amazing cake! I was reading through the bible and realized that the food "raisin cake" was mentioned and eaten alot as part of the hebrew tradition. So I was inspired to look for a "raisin cake" recipe. Though I'm sure this is not a traditional hebrew recipe, it sure is delectable!! As another reviewer did, I also made mine in a bundt pan. Incredibly moist, just enough sweetness to it and so very easy to make. Thanks for sharing. I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VETTY430

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Station, Indiana, USA
Living In: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Azita
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This cake turned out delicious! It was very easy to make. I made the cake in a bundt cake pan and it came out perfect! Smells good and tasted even better! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azita
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by STARAJOY
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This is our first raisin cake and it was Very Easy & Very Good. We baked ours for 35 minutes , to be super it was super moist and good. Then it wasn't over cooked. When the raisins and water were done boiling i removed them from the heat & put the butter & sugars right into the hot water to melt. I didn't wait for it to cool. Just went ahead and mixed in the flour and other ingredients. We didn't add the nuts. We also sprinkled 10X sugar on top. Came out great, will be making again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARAJOY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Liberty, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I tried this yesterday and it was a big hit. Very easy to make with ingredients that are on hand. Very moist. I used golden raisins( didn't have enough regular ones)ans pecans instead of walnuts. I will definately make this one again. Sweet and moist enough without a glaze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phenix City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I got to give this one a five. It was Super easy and really good. However I did let mine cook for one hour just to be on the safe side of done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Zebra Cake

See how ingenious cooks adapted to food rationing during World War II.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States