G.G.'s Chocolate Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Soooo good! Thank u for sharing! I made a gluten free version by substituting the flour with a gluten free baking mix. Could tell no difference! Making it again tonight. This is officially my go to recipe for chocolate cake! Spread my icing while it & the cake were still warm like another person suggested. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Delicious! We made this exactly as the recipe directed and it turned out perfect. I'm sure we'll be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Been making this for years with the following differences: extra tablespoon of cocoa in both cake and frosting and sour cream in place of buttermilk. I also try to prepare the frosting just before the cake comes out of the oven and pour it on the hot cake. The heat makes it easily spread as long as you are not heavy-handed and it sets up like a perfectly smooth fudge on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This cake is just....no words can describe it. YUM! I baked the batter into cupcakes and it was moist on the inside and very chocolaty. This one is most definitely and keeper. Thanks for sharing. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I haven't baked in a while but a guy I know had a birthday so I gave this a shot. The frosting was easy to decorate the cupcakes with and tastes like a wonderful fudge. Cake moist and held together well. On a few cupcakes I added marshmallow under frosting. Thank you for the recipe, the cupcakes are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I have been making this recipe for more than 25 years... Sometimes I add 1 Tablespoon more of the unsweetened cocoa powder for more of a chocolate taste in the cake and the icing!...it is a very easy and quick way for a wonderful cake.....my recipe is called "Brownie Sheet Cake".....got it from a friend of mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I also have made this recipe for many years. Our recipe has half butter and half shortening in the cake. It always turns out great. I have baked it in a 9 x13 inch pan when that was what was available and it is still good. I have added cinnamon to the cake or icing for a little different flavor. I have made it without nuts in the icing for people who don't like nuts and have made it half with nuts in the icing and half without ( just pour some icing on half the cake and add nuts to the remaining icing and spread on the other half). I have a friend who makes it with regular milk not buttermilk. It is a very forgiving cake. Since the cake is very moist I have never tried layers. I use the same saucepan for the icing I use for the cake. I have seen this named Sheath Cake, Texas Sheet Cake and 22 minute cake. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver City, Texas, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
When I ask my now grown kids what cake they want for their birthday, it's always been Texas Sheet Cake. I've been making this recipe for many many years. It always comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbyrd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenova, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bogalusa, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This is a simple and tasty cake to take to a potluck at the last minute. I did increase the cocoa by 1 tablespoon cuz I love chocolate. Otherwise, made as directed. Wonderful cake Mrs. Altmiller!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I have been making this cake since I was about 10 years old, and I will be 46 next month! Everyone who has ever had this LOVES it! So moist and delicious. I add extra cocoa, usually about a half cup total, and have even used the dark cocoa, that is really good. On my birthday I always want the "Mississippi Mud" version-(my mom's) when the cake comes out of the oven, (baked in 9x13 pan) spread a jar of marshmallow cream over it while it is still very warm. Then make the frosting with the nuts, and once the marshmallow has cooled very carefully spread the frosting over the marshmallow. Yes, very decadent- thats why I want it for my birthday! I have shared this recipe more than any other over the years- everyone enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States