G.G.'s Chocolate Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I have been making this recipe for more than 25 years... Sometimes I add 1 Tablespoon more of the unsweetened cocoa powder for more of a chocolate taste in the cake and the icing!...it is a very easy and quick way for a wonderful cake.....my recipe is called "Brownie Sheet Cake".....got it from a friend of mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I also have made this recipe for many years. Our recipe has half butter and half shortening in the cake. It always turns out great. I have baked it in a 9 x13 inch pan when that was what was available and it is still good. I have added cinnamon to the cake or icing for a little different flavor. I have made it without nuts in the icing for people who don't like nuts and have made it half with nuts in the icing and half without ( just pour some icing on half the cake and add nuts to the remaining icing and spread on the other half). I have a friend who makes it with regular milk not buttermilk. It is a very forgiving cake. Since the cake is very moist I have never tried layers. I use the same saucepan for the icing I use for the cake. I have seen this named Sheath Cake, Texas Sheet Cake and 22 minute cake. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver City, Texas, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I have been making this cake since I was about 10 years old, and I will be 46 next month! Everyone who has ever had this LOVES it! So moist and delicious. I add extra cocoa, usually about a half cup total, and have even used the dark cocoa, that is really good. On my birthday I always want the "Mississippi Mud" version-(my mom's) when the cake comes out of the oven, (baked in 9x13 pan) spread a jar of marshmallow cream over it while it is still very warm. Then make the frosting with the nuts, and once the marshmallow has cooled very carefully spread the frosting over the marshmallow. Yes, very decadent- thats why I want it for my birthday! I have shared this recipe more than any other over the years- everyone enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Been making this for years with the following differences: extra tablespoon of cocoa in both cake and frosting and sour cream in place of buttermilk. I also try to prepare the frosting just before the cake comes out of the oven and pour it on the hot cake. The heat makes it easily spread as long as you are not heavy-handed and it sets up like a perfectly smooth fudge on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
When I ask my now grown kids what cake they want for their birthday, it's always been Texas Sheet Cake. I've been making this recipe for many many years. It always comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbyrd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenova, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bogalusa, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This is a simple and tasty cake to take to a potluck at the last minute. I did increase the cocoa by 1 tablespoon cuz I love chocolate. Otherwise, made as directed. Wonderful cake Mrs. Altmiller!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Just a warning: this batter is VERY runny. If it turns out like soup, don't be alarmed. I used cake flour (if you do this, be sure to add an extra 2 T. for every cup of flour), I also warmed the butter and water in the microwave and then added the cocoa powder (used and extra T of cocoa too). Lastly, I turned them into cupcakes instead of using a jellyroll pan. If you do this, be sure not to overfill the cupcake molds because I overfilled a couple and, although it wasn't disastrous, batter was overflowing out the middle of a couple of them. All in all, the cupcakes turned out fine, but I didn't find the cake itself to be all that chocolaty. I think next time I'd add even more cocoa powder or even some chocolate chips might add a lot to this recipe. Granted, I did not use the frosting recipe on here, instead I used a vanilla frosting, so I'm sure using a chocolate frosting would help too. I used vanilla because I decorated them with Christmas sprinkles and I thought the sprinkles would pop more on the vanilla instead of the chocolate. Also, this recipe yielded about 20 cupcakes and they cooked for about 20-25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Chocolate sheet cake always goes over well at our family functions. While this wasn't the best sheet cake I've had or made it was good. I used a 10x15 sheet pan and it fit perfectly. Once you pour the batter into the pan be sure to pick pan up about and inch from the counter and drop to the counter a few times to pop the air bubbles. I forgot to do that and ended up with a very unevenly baked cake. I always pour the warm frosting over a warm cake. It's just the way I learned to make a cake like this. I left the pecans out of the frosting and toasted them in a dry non-stick skillet before adding them to the top of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This was excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
really a 10 star!!! have used this so many times i know it by heart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Bossa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hennessey, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: El Reno, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States